Sweetest Christmas Card I Made

in #drawing7 years ago (edited)

For our first ever Christmas together, I decided to make a handmade Christmas Card for my bf because: Number one, we had gone through so many ups and downs earlier in the year, but still made it to Christmas. Number two, Christmas is my all time favorite time of the year and number three, I absolutely love making greeting cards.

IMG_20151205_151559.jpg

I love wrapping up presents or choosing really nice cards to give away during the holidays. That's my favorite part of this season, closely followed by Christmas dinner. :D

I really think it's one of the best cards I made or ever will make, just because the person I made it for is someone very special to me. I took a few progress pictures while painting it so here they are:

It didn't look like much at the beginning, but the trick to painting with watercolor is building up layers.

IMG_20151205_093500.jpg

Starting to get there. Yellow is my most common base for most things I paint. Below, you can see me incorporating the green for the tree and brown for the pine cones. Btw, pine cones are so fun to draw.

IMG_20151205_100726.jpg

At this stage, it's almost finished. I used a darker shade of brown for the pine cones and added some orange high lights to the tree to make it more festive-looking. I added in some Christmas boxes and a candle in the background for added detail.

IMG_20151205_112422.jpg

Last but not least was the wording, "Our First Christmas" and you can see I also added in a box with 2 toys in it. It's actually the Steadfast Tin Soldier and the Ballerina he falls in love with. That story was bittersweet, similar to what we had been through that year.

IMG_20151205_151559.jpg

Hope you guys like the card and maybe try making some this year as it's absolutely so much fun to make!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! To join the ResteemSupport network and be entered into the lottery please upvote this post and see the following rules.

Cool art. I suggest add more photos and description the next time.

Thanks for the pro tip! :) following u for more ideas. 👍

Oh dear its really beautiful and eyes catching.

Thank you so much!

Thi is so lovely, and with a vintage feel ^_^
jolly day.png

(blushes) Thanks heaps! Your drawings are so amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56691.97
ETH 2499.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23