Anime Character Drawing 005: Attack on Titan Mikasa Ackerman

in #drawing8 years ago

Good Afternoon Steemians,

I hope you are all well.

I was talking with a friend about other animes I could draw characters from, I said a few that I had in mind, Attack on Titan, One piece, Death Note. They jumped straight onto Attack on Titan and said "why don't I draw Mikasa" to which I thought was a great idea as she is one of the main characters and plays an awesome role in the anime. The character also leads me onto other Attack on Titan characters to draw.

I recommend watching Attack on Titan to those of you who like anime but haven't seen it yet, I also recommend it to those who don't or haven't watched any anime. I heard it is available on netflix however I wouldn't know because I don't have netflix.

Back to Mikasa.

I really enjoyed drawing this character and although I see much that I've missed here is the reference I found on google.

By now you should be getting the stages of my drawings and Mikasa was no different. I start by blocking in her stance and proportion with a blue pencil.

She then had a second pass with the blue pencil where I added more details and decided on lines I'd liek to keep. I also got a little eager to move on to the first pencil stage and had almost all of her upper body done before taking a picutre.

At this point I had stopped looking at the reference entirely.

my phone had died and I had no iternet access. I also dont download any of the reference files. But its okay I happily continued with the drawing as almsot everything was blocked in blue and I would only need the reference for smaller details.

From there I finalize most of the drawing with a 0.05 fine liner but left the smaller details blank. I also added the details I had been missing out and inked them in using the same pen.

I then started on with the hair. She is not the first character I've drawn with black hair however she is the first that I tried a different way of adding shine to the hair. I penciled in the shines and then outlined the entire of her hair with a slightly larger fine liner.

I ended the drawing unsure of what to do. I really wanted to colour her in but with no colour markers it wasn't an options, I could have shaded her in like with Jiraiya(https://steemit.com/drawing/@nathwright876/anime-character-drawing-004-jiraiya-sensei-the-toad-sage) however I really wanted the colours. So I decided add some shading using my only promarker plus the light grey that I found in the bottom of a bag.

i.imgsafe.org/f62b6b9769.jpg

I used the usual pastel blue everwhere other than her shirt, she wear a white shirt as a part of the uniform so I made use of the 2nd promarker I now have and used that, hoping the idea of a white shirt would at least come through. Un sure it work out I think it doesn't look bad, and maybe when I get a set of different colour promarkers maybe I can come back to Mikasa and try them out.

Hope you like this drawing, please follow along etc...

If you'd like to see a character in future I'm happy for you to leave suggestions in any of the character drawing posts that I make.

Until next time,
Nath

Sort:  

Rory Mercury cutting someone up and smiling like the mad women she is ^^

Sounds good to me. Keep your eye out I'll get round to it soon.

I've not watched the anime Rory Mercury is from. Is it a good watch?

can I make a drawing request?

Sure but It's been 8 months and haven't had chance to warm up

What would you like drawing?

Any favorite anime chracter from your mind?

I haven't drawn any character from one piece, or seven deadly sins.

Seven Deadly Sins.. Meliodas if you can draw :D

haha are you calling a challenge there? I accept!

I'll call it the "If I Can Draw Challenge @jenas"

nanatsu_no_taizai-meliodas-and-elizabeth-(1422).jpg

It's going to be interesting, I'm looking forward to drawing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44