Anime Character Drawing 004: Jiraiya Sensei, The Toad Sage

in #drawing8 years ago

Hello Steemers

I hope you are well.

It has been a little while since I posted a character drawing and that isn't because I haven't been doing any. I really wanted to draw them up with toon nath presenting them for you. Unfortunately it got a little complicated, I needed my laptop to draw up the pages in photoshop using my wacom, but I don't always have my laptop or my tablet with me. So it basically is too much hastle to do for each of my character drawings. Even though the toon nath pages I have been working on look good, I'm going back to my old way of sharing and just making a simple, normal post.

Today I have Jiraiya one of the Three Sannin from Naruto. He is my favourite character from the anime, ever since the first episode that he got introduced.

Here is the reference I used.

It is not my own, I only used it as reference.

I drew Jiraiya using my usual method. Stage 1, blue pencil, block in the pose and size of the drawing.

I have now started doing a second pass with the blue pencil for stage 2. This is where I finalise the pose and proportions, plus add in some smaller details.

Up untill this point the stance had given me some hastle, he is stood on a single leg which made getting the balance to feel right hard, but not only that he is not stood on the foot he is on his toes, making it that little bit more difficult. The stance was one thing, another thing was the hand he has reaching forward, I had a little trouble getting the perspective correct and even now don't think I have it quiet right.

There is a point where the trouble areas have to be left as they are and at stage 2 I felt they had got to where I had to move on, I could have spent more time trying to correct what looked wrong to me but it isn't about making every correction you can. On to Stage 3

In stage 3 I pick out the lines I want and put them in using any pencil, h4 - h2 or hb, almost any pencil, I wont use a b pencil in this stage.

With stage 3 complete I move on to finishing off the drawing

I start with a fine liner 0.1 or less and set in the pencil lines I am happy with. I also do a second pass with a thicker pen 0.2or 0.3 but I dont go over every line.

Stage 4 could be a part of stage 3 but not with Jiraiya

Before continuing the pen work I stopped to shaded in his clothes.

and then added the last ink layer, the thick outline before finishing of the drawing and adding some shading with my only promarker.

pastel blue

I hope you liked this drawing, I've now done 2 out of the three Sannin from naruto.
Lady Tsunade: 5th Hokage of the leaf village https://steemit.com/drawing/@nathwright876/naruto-character-drawing-3-lady-tsunade-the-5th-hokage
and Jiraiya The Toad Sage

To finish of the sannin I'm working on Orochimaru
https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=jiraiya+naruto&client=firefox-b-ab&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwig5srTnfPPAhXMAsAKHe26ABQQ_AUICCgB&biw=1269&bih=650#tbm=isch&q=orochimaru+naruto&imgrc=Pclxw52c8pUiAM%3A
Another great character from Naruto

If you like my drawing I will be posting more so make sure to follow ect..

Sorry for the sideways pictures, I'll keep an eye out and do my best to prevent it in future.

Sort:  

he is super cool in naruto.

He was an awesome character, his books are the best. The one Kikashi is reading right at the start.

The Jiraiya vs Pain was a bit gutting but still a sick fight

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43