And the Winner Is...(The results of my FIRST DRAWING CONTEST)

in #drawing7 years ago (edited)

I held my first contest, just for fun, to reward those who are newer to Steemit, and encourage them to keep Steeming on. I'm an artist, so of course I did an art contest. In this case, a drawing contest.

https://steemit.com/contest/@mattphilleo/win-usd15-steem-in-portrait-drawing-contest-for-minnows


Out of all the submissions--Drum roll-- Here are the winners...

Honorable Mention

@Zaakas

Drawing Contest 4th.jpg

I like the incredible detail of this drawing. I hope he didn't get all those tattoos in one sitting! But he looks like the kind of guy that wouldn't mind the pain, anyway. :)

Congratulations, @zaakas !

Honorable Mention

@waywardquan

Drawing Contest 4th_a.jpg

This is a solid portrait drawing, with some accurate facial features, crisp detail, and a some nice shading to describe the contours of the face. He reminds me a little of the "hot mugshot guy." Nice job.

Congratulations, @waywardquan !

3rd Place

PRIZE: $1 Steem

@sahchandan

Drawing Contest 3rd.jpg

I was very impressed by the correct use of value within this drawing. Without too much fuss, the artist captured the idea of a musician playing. I play the bass, so I can get a sense for what he's trying to convey. The chiaroscuro modeling of the facial features is very well done. Realism isn't always conveyed by using a lot of detail. Sometimes it's the ambiguity that makes a drawing or painting look real. But in all cases, you need to have the correct values in the correct place, and this drawing has it. In the end, I found myself wanting a bit more contrast and darker values in this drawing. Using darker pencil leads like 6B or 8B could achieve that. All in all, fantastic job!

Congratulations, @sahchandan !

2nd Place

PRIZE: $5 Steem!

@jameszenartist

Drawing Contest 2nd.jpg

This is an amazing drawing that just as easily could be a black and white photo of a 19th century painting that you'd see in your art history book. This artist knows how to create traditional realism. I love the rich, pungent blacks used in the dark values. And that makes sense, since this is a charcoal drawing. Is this man sleeping? Is he dead? I don't know. A lot of mystery implied here within the drawing. The values are all in the right place, and even though the drawing is not very detailed, it does convey a high degree of realism. Even the pillow he's resting on is amazingly rendered--with soft, subtle values to convey wrinkles. I love it.

Congratulations, @Jameszenartist !

1st Place

PRIZE: $15 Steem!

@lianaakobian

Drawing Contest 1st.png

This drawing kind of grew on me. I liked it when it was first submitted, with the high contrast values drawing me in. But the detail kept me coming back to look closer. This artist stated that she is attempting to achieve photorealism, and hasn't been drawing very long, which makes it all the more amazing.

I think this drawing is very close to achieving the technical realism and psychological transparency of a Chuck Close portrait. You get a sense that this woman is exposing all that she is to the viewer--completely vulnerable, with a look of searching for acceptance, and yet a quiet confidence in who she is. She may very well be naked, as conveyed by her bare shoulders. But since it is a head and shoulders drawing, there is nothing risque, tantalizing, or scandalous about the portrayal.

Technically, the drawing is very well done. Everything from the sensitive eyes, the randomly, naturally spaced eyebrow hairs, to the delicately shaded nostrils, to the soft, slightly pursed lips, and the rich-black flowing hair, is fantastic! I look forward to seeing more of this artist's work.

Congratulations @lianaakobian !


To @Zaakas, @waywardquan, @sahchandan, @jameszenartist and @lianaakobian, THANK YOU so much for entering this contest. I wish you the very best in your art careers and May God bless you in it!

I'm sorry, I forgot to upvote your posts before post ended and did the payout, but I hope the extra 2nd and 3rd place prizes will make up for that. I will transfer you all your prize winnings today. Keep an eye out for future contests. Keep on drawing, and Steem on!

Have a blessed day,

Signature_200dpi_sm.jpg

If you like this post, please upvote, follow and resteem. I post regularly on art, tips on painting and drawing, and encouraging thoughts.

See more of my artwork at: MattPhilleo.com

Sort:  

I am so honored!! Thank you SO much! I am at a loss for words.. especially with the other submissions being so beautiful! I really am truly grateful!

with love,

Liana

You're welcome, Lianaa, and congratulations again! Look forward to seeing more of your artwork here on Steemit.

Wow Gratulation!
Du startest hier ja richtig durch, sehr schön :)

@mattphilleo Thank you so much! I'm very honored and grateful to even have been a part of this contest. I look forward to participating in many more in the future :)

You're very welcome, James. You're very talented, and I look forward to seeing more of your work, and yes, keep on following for more contests.

What wonderful entries - all such talented artists! Congratulations to the winners.

Ditto to that.

great way to bring the steemit family together.. congragulations to the winners, that's some great talent you showed

Yes, Steemit's got talent! I'll do some more contests down the road.

These are incredible!

They sure are. The contest didn't get a lot of submissions, but that's OK--they were excellent. It was definitely quality over quantity.

Honestly, the quality on Steemit is unreal. So many talented people. I'm a little less happy in the poetry department (often just sentimental vote-grabs, unfortunately), but everything else is top-notch!

Wow. Wonderful.
I'm not an artist buy I'm a graphic artist. I wish I can for in to this contest

Wow, there is some really good work here, and the feelings and styles of all of them are different. Congrats on the successful contest!

Thank you! Yes, a lot of talent out on Steemit. If Steemit could have a gallery page or something, it would attract a lot of attention, and a good audience of artists and art appreciators.

Thank you so much @mattpilleo, i am so grateful and honored to be a part of this contest, all the sketches being amazing with their own different styles of sketching. Looking forward to participating in other similar contests in the future, Thanks again....

You're welcome, Sahchandan. Thanks for entering, and I look forward to seeing your work again!

Amazing entries, very skilled level

Thanks, Airmatti!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67904.70
ETH 3244.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66