Win $15 Steem in Portrait Drawing Contest for Minnows

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

Can you draw people well? Enter to win $15 Steem (currently worth almost $100 USD) in my first portrait drawing contest!

I've been drawing since I was a child, and doing paid commissions since I was 14. This is one of my first drawings from 1993, when I was 15, 9" x 12", black colored pencil on paper.

Wonderful_Old_Woman_4x6.jpg

I know what it's like to struggle as an artist, but I've been doing art full time for the past four years. Steemit has been a huge part of that, at least for this year. I joined back in June 2017, and since then, by sharing my art here part time, have made over 1/4 of my annual income. Thank you to all the people who have generously supported my work!

I'd like to give back with a contest to support new artists.

So here's the deal: If you're a new artist here on Steemit (2 months or less)...

  1. Enter your best realistic portrait drawing--pencil, colored pencil, charcoal, pen (head and shoulders drawing only, please) as a comment to this post. It doesn't have to be Michelangelo quality, just your best work. :)Please include the medium and dimensions, and title if you have one for it.
  2. The contest will end in 7 days after the date of this posting.
  3. At that point, I'll select the best drawing, and put out a new post announcing the winner.
  4. I'll transfer $15 steem (worth almost $100 USD) to the winner.
  5. I will also upvote the first, second, and third place entries.

So, get drawing, and I look forward to seeing your entries! Questions? Leave a comment and let me know.

All the best,

Signature_200dpi_sm.jpg

If you like this post, please upvote, follow and resteem. I post regularly on art, tips on painting and drawing, and encouraging thoughts.

See more of my artwork at: MattPhilleo.com

Sort:  

James...excellent! Fantastic contrast and values. What did you use to do this?

Thank you so much! I really appreciate that :) Do you mean what medium? I did this during my atelier training and it is charcoal on paper.

I thought it was charcoal. But I just wanted to make sure. I love the way you blocked in the features. Realistic drawing doesn't always require a ton of detail, but it does require placing correct values within the correct places. The wrinkles on the pillow are also very well done, and the composition is interesting and balanced, with the white of his shirt as an abstract shape leading you back into the face. Again, well done!

@mattphilleo Thank you! :) I have to admit, I've had a really good teacher.

Beautiful drawing ! I like it very much!

Can’t wait to see the results of this. I’m definitely not an artist by any means and don’t draw/paint, but there’s obviously so many talented people here that are going to make some amazing things :).

Yes, there's a lot of talented people here on Steemit, and it will be nice to reward them for their efforts.

not that good at sketching but will surely participate.....
thank you for this opportunity...

Look forward to seeing your work!

A very realistic drawing you did there the shading is very accurate.

Screen Shot 2017-12-29 at 10.46.07 PM.png

Thanks. Looking forward to seeing the artwork entered in here. Looks like some good stuff already!

great artwork matt,,

im a new artist on steemit,,

here's my portrait drawing for the contest....
i know, it looks kind of faded, its because i sketched it on ply board couple of months back and the contrast isn't that great because i only had graphite pencils to sketch with.....
hope u like it.... :)

thanks again....

Fantastic! Love the chiaroscuro look. You captured the pose of this musician excellently. I play the bass, so I can feel the grooving going on here.

thank you so much.... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59583.90
ETH 2578.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48