Drawing of Charlie The Rat

in #drawing7 years ago

My friends and I always exchange pictures of our rats, so I save some of them to draw and paint for later. I figured I would share some progress photos of my recent drawing. I am not particularly proud of this one, but I am still happy that I completed it despite it not turning out how I wanted it to.

Here is the original photo, posted with permission from my friend. This is Charlie.

After sketching

Quick color with watercolor pencils.

Then completed by painting. His face didn't turn out quite right, but that is ok. I'll get better.

Thank you for looking. Any advice on how to improve is welcome. I have a long way to go.

Sort:  

For cute! That face expression is so funny haha

Nice! Did you drink some water with that? LOL

Some bean water that induces diuresis/dehydration and tachycardia, AKA, coffee. Does that count?

More inspiration! Very nice! You really capture the cuteness of rats (and I am not a fan of rats) but I am open to it more now that I see you care for them. I do like ferrets and hamsters though.

The stick in his mouth really gave your drawing added character.

A great attempt showing depth perception in a drawing! (I've been reading up!) If you haven't looked up depth perception that would be my advice.

Is this all from self knowledge or did you take a drawing course at some point?

I can't wait to show you more and more how wonderful rats are @bitfiend. Depth perception- got it. That is great advice.

I haven't really taken drawing classes. There were some general art classes in school but I don't think I was present enough for it to count.

I found this(external link) to be a good read on understanding depth perception in a drawing but it is a little advanced. I was just reading around. It shows what I consider professional examples of depth perception but it let me understand it easily. Basically, the "looking down a long hallway" effect.

It was a great drawing. The real artist is like you. I would like my picture to be my talent. health to your ego. I am waiting for your drawings to continue :)

Thank you for your kind words. :)

You're welcome. just told the facts :)

very - very cute i like this picture, and so funny

Bravo for the nice work done

Thank you for thinking so. :)

I like it!! :)

I am glad you like it! Thank you!

Of course! Can’t wait to see more of your cute rats :)

I had a pet rat named Fred some years back- he lived to be 3.5 years old- was really an awesome pet and the smartest rodent I've ever known. I miss that little guy!

Aw, I would love to see a picture of him if you have one. 3.5 is a good age for these guys. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39