Midas - The Cursed

in #drawing6 years ago (edited)

My name...




...is Midas.


midas.png


I was three years old when this curse within me awakened. I had the ability to turn anything into gold with a single touch.



My own parents avoided me; and at the age of six, I finally knew why. All I ever wanted was to hold my mother's hand again when it dawned on me why I can't, and why I shouldn't. With a single touch, every finger, every limb, every part that I once called 'Mom' was turned into cold hard steel... unable to feel, unable to breathe, and unable to hold me ever again. Seeing what I was capable of, my father was overwhelmed by fear; and without a second thought, he fled.


Jinxed, cursed, ill-fated, problem child... murderer. From every orphanage I've been transferred to, no one has seen me more than a murderer; and I was constantly reminded how the world would be better off without someone like me.


For years, I have endured all torments that I received from strangers and 'friends' alike. I was unwanted and useless...


...until...


...a war broke out.


I finally found a purpose to live.




At the age of sixteen, I joined the military. No one cared that I was too young to join; everyone wanted me dead.


I climbed up ranks in no time. With the ability to turn everything I touch into a weapon, who can defeat me?


For the first time in years, I finally felt needed. And I'll never be more ready to leave behind my past.


Heeello everyone! Although hand-touching-something-makes-gold power isn't really original, I am really happy to share with you my first ever character made!


"If I had the ability to turn anything to gold with a single touch, wouldn't that make me really powerful? Or even invincible?" was the thought I had when I made Midas. Call it lame but I think it's pretty cool! :> To be honest, I was already imagining fight scenes with just the concept of using Midas's power to fight in the front lines.

Everything she's wearing when she fights is, you guessed it, made of gold. She can't turn into gold what already IS gold. So, by wearing something that's already gold, she'll avoid the possibility of using up her energy turning her armor into gold. Also, it's fancy and cool. 'Turning to gold' isn't exactly her ability. She is only able to err alter the chemical properties of the materials that she touches by adding gold to it. I'm pretty bad at science so please bear with me :>

When she was a child, she was forced to wear huge chunk of metals to prevent her from touching anything. When she's finally acknowledged by many, a metal chain gloves was made specifically for her. One that is really light and is made up of chains that are incredibly small and at the same time sturdy. She wears these gloves when she is not out fighting and takes it off when she wants to go full badass.

Since I'm still testing the waters in realistic art, I decided to use the style I'm most comfortable in, anime style. I did try to make realistic-ish hands though! It's far from realistic but I'm really happy with it! n_n

I'm planning to create a love partner for our Midas-chan here. One that is not affected by her powers. Please do look forward to seeing it when I do create his character! n_n


That's about it!


Please do check out the game we are currently working on! Takipsilim

Thank You!


I hope you guys enjoyed this one as well!
Feel free to comment any tips or suggestions. It will be greatly appreciated! If you liked the content, please leave an upvote. For more, please follow @kothy.


All images were drawn and edited by @kothy
All rights reserved


Sort:  

Congratulations @kothy your post has been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.
You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.

See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

Well I think is quite awesome story Kothy :D, sure not entirely original but quite cool rebranded ;)

This is a very great art work... I love it

You may kindly check my blog @Rf-abol for nice pen art as well... Hope to see you stop by

Thank you! I see that you make cool art as well, if you're interested join us @steemartists where artists come together to help one another \o/

This is awesome. not only the character but the story behind it.. well done!

Thank you @anouk.nox! I had a hard time putting the story into words so I'm really glad you find it awesome :D

I love that you made Midas a girl :) Really cool artwork!

Thank you! I've always wanted a story in which there a strong female lead hehe

You're welcome @kothy! There needs to be more of them 😅


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Yippie! Thank you n_n

I really like the gold animation you created for this post, kothy :D. And Midas sounds like a bad ass in your version, hehehe, that's pretty creative of you :).

-upvoted-

Thank you @scrawly! I'm glad the animation turned out okay and that you liked it! :>

This is super awesome!! I love the artwork and it is an intriguing story...interesting twist to an older concept. I'm certainly looking forward to more!!

Thank you! I'm really glad you liked it ♥

Oooh shiny!
Cool character and story Kothy!
Can't wait to see what her partner would be like!

Thank you kuya @guri-gure! n_n

really awesome character but I'm afraid to get in contact with her xD I don't want to turn to gold haha. Can't wait to see more 😃

Thank you @looserwin! Who wouldn't be afraid of turning into gold? hahaha
I'll try to make more n_n

Maybe you could find me someone that would be my perfect pair xD
hahaha.. I can't wait for your next posts.

I have another character made if you're interested :> But she deals with fire haha
So, it's either you get turned into gold or burned into crisps :x

haha. hmm what about one that will love you forever? xD
I will check that out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57544.06
ETH 2338.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35