Luna, the Moon Rider - Recolored!

in #drawing6 years ago

a.png


What's up ya'll! As I was thinking of what I was going to draw next, a friend of mine brought up this drawing I did almost 2 years ago. I was so happy I could finally point out what made my old drawing odd. After a bunch of attempts on exploring other techniques, I guess it's kind of paying off :3

For years, I have stayed in my comfort zone, drawing nothing but anime characters in anime style (which didn't have noses, by the way). I always dismissed the thought of trying a bit of realistic-ish drawings as I've really struggled in drawing noses. Joining steemit has really pushed me beyond my comfort zone. Aaaand, 2 years after my little attempt, I decided to recolor it again, or at least the face.


2016 Luna

56.jpg


Step by step ♥


Sketch

1.png

As most drawings/paintings start, I started off with as sketch. I don't do much side views and noses. Seeing that I've tried to do both, I've must've taken lots of determination to get this one right haha


Coloring the skin

2.png

Back then, I was afraid to use contrasting colors. When picking a color to use as shade, I choose the one closest to it. It was only a few months ago that the right contrasting colors would give life to your drawing. Tip to myself from few years ago: There's undo button, layers, opacity/fill and other bunch of stuff on Photoshop. Never be afraid to try out what's on your mind :D

In this one, you can barely see the different shades which made the color pretty dead/dull.


Coloring the eyes and lips

3.png


4.png


5.png

You probably thought these were the same images, didn't you? That's where you're wrong. If you look closely, the eyes and mouth had a little color on them. The fact that most of you probably didn't notice the changes is the main reason why you should aim to make your colors pop out. That way, they won't go unnoticed.


Coloring the gears

6.png

7.png

I'm pretty happy with Luna's clothing so I didn't change much about it (actually didn't change anything at all just the contrast and lighting). I even had these pretty cool details back then. I mean, she fights wars. Her gears must be at least scratched a little, right?


9.png
10.png

The cool thing about layers is that you get to be as careless as you want without damaging other layers (not that I'm saying it's fine to be careless). Check this one out:
11.png

Notice how carelessly I colored the blue part of the suit. Then it gets entirely covered by the black part and no one would even know that it's that messy in the back ;)


12.png

For the nice errr strings on the helmet, I used a customized brush. The default brushes didn't look much like strings so I made my own brush (if I remember it right).


Coloring the background ♥

13.png

I filled the background with dark blue and with a few shades lighter, I tried to make the belt of stars ♥


15.png

A bit more details on the gear and tada! Again, it may not be visible but I tried to add a few light on the parts facing the starry night and yet again failed as I did it too little to be noticable.


Makeover!

When you do makeovers, where do you usually start? The least appealing parts which in this case is the face. So I completely removed the entire face before starting the recoloring haha


17.png

Luckily for me, I organized them neatly in folders as seen above. One click of a button, and the entire face is hidden. Convenient!


18.png
In this one, I used a bit more darker colors and did an attempt on a nice nose. I was really happy with my nose :3

As for the lips, I used more light colors. I was afraid to use light colors on the lips back then as I didn't want Luna to look girly. She's a warrior!


Coloring the eyes and brows

25.png

I just discovered this technique with the brows while I was experimenting and I think it's a lot better than the thin one I made back in 2016. Anime characters had really thin brows (some even have just a line for brows) so I didn't know how to draw brows back then. I'm really happy with how this brow turned out and I can't wait to share it with you guys soon n_n


Color adjustments \o/

22.png

There's a quick remedy for dull colors. Adjustment curves! With this little tool, I got that nice effect I wanted n_n

26.png


23.png

I could've ended there but I wasn't satisfied with the stars. So, I decided to make everything else darker to make the stars brighter by creating another layer and filling it with gradient color, then changing the blending mode to 'Overlay'.


Final:

lublub.png


I'm reaaally happy how this recolor worked out! The best thing about seeing your old stuff is you get to see how much you've learned; and from that, you will be motivated to learn more, to improve, and to further explore your capabilities.


That's about it!

Thank You!


I hope you guys enjoyed this one as well!
Feel free to comment any tips or suggestions. It will be greatly appreciated! If you liked the content, please leave an upvote. For more, please follow @kothy.


All images were drawn and edited by @kothy


Sort:  

Amazing artwork @kothy!
I especially love how you made the starry sky!
Keep doing amazing stuff!

Thank you kuya @guri-gure! I'll be trying to make more stuff like this ♥

Hey Kothy! I am really biased but your artworks are really awesome and too bad you are not yet recognized by some folks. No worries Ohana from discord got your back.


I nominated this post to be featured for our 67th Daily Steemit Family Ph Featured Posts.

To know the mechanics on how you can be nominated on the Steemit Family Featured Post and also get to know who made it on the 66th edition you can click this link.

Daily Steemit Family Ph Featured Posts #66

All the best!

Thank you so much kuya @tpkidkai and Ohana ♥

Congratulation on being curied ! you deserve it ! keep the good stuff coming ^^

Thank you so much bunso! More posts to come! Para sa ekonomiya!

This BOT Says, No Problem. Ha Ha Ha . . .
HAHAHA
walang problema un !

Congrats on the Good Artwork. You deserve a recognition by Curie.. Make more good stuff like this and you will have a good future here on the platform. Gbu

Thank you so much @khenbee!! I'll try my best to keep making stuff like this! n_n

Congrats, kothy!!! Really nice picture and shows great progress of your talents <3 <3 <3 <3 <3

upvotes

Thank you @veryspider!! I hope to learn more stuff from you guys ♥

Awesome post @kothy, not just the art but the writing too. I like the transformation element you showcased here. Great job!

Oh, if you haven't yet, please consider voting for @curie as a witness. Thanks!

Thank you kuya @jazzhero! I guess my mandatory journalism class is now paying off haha

really good art there @kothy. Good to see your debut 😊 Always be the same and not forget the hardship you went thru, Congrats 😀

Thank you @looserwin! I don't see any reason to change other than changing for the better :>

LUCENT BEAM!
I love Luna. She's my first hero in DOTA. Congrats for the curie vote!

Thank you ate @itsjessamae! I don't use Luna as much as I use other heroes but I can see how Luna can be a good pick for first timers hehe

Congrats for the curie upvote Kothy. Ohana is soooo proud of you. I never knew you were this goood. Following you from now on. Keep being awesome! 😍

Thank you ate @chinitacharmer!! I'll try my best to post more stuff like this one, please do look forward to it hehehe

Awesome drawing, you've improved a lot :D especially love the pretty shades of blue <3

Thank you @ivan-g! I'm really happy I got it to look like color blue as it was a bit purple when I first colored it (my laptop screen shows slightly different colors, I'm not sure how to fix it).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61804.64
ETH 3395.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51