My penspirit, Furirin | Step by step process + Timelapse videos

in #drawing6 years ago (edited)



Lovely day, everybody! 


I'm back with another artwork! I've been off of work for the past days and felt an urge to have a go with my art supplies. This piece is supposed to be an entry for @topkpop 's Jenny's Art Contest Week #14 with the theme Spirit. Too bad though I was not able to make it on time for the contest because of my work. However, it would be a waste if I just throw it away, right? So here it is.

Meet Furirin, my penspirit. Penspirit is an identity I created to represent my artistic spirit, 4-5 years ago. Since I had my artblock, I totally lost contact of her but now, I felt like she came back home. I will make a detailed post on why I chose a witch in a purple dress with no eyes, holding a blue pencil (staedler) as my penspirit in my next post. As I said earlier, this was supposed to be an entry for an art contest. I told the organizer about this but as soon as I read the theme, an image of Furirin came into mind and it was exactly as how I draw it. By the way, if you haven't noticed yet, the girl below is supposed to be me. She looks cute but anything in anime is allowed to be cute so to my real life friends, sorry if this looks too cute to be me. (LOL) As with all my latest artworks, I am very happy and satisfied with the results. 

Here's what I used:

  • Kent Paper (a kind of paper popular in Japan that is very suitable with alcohol based markers like Copic)
  • Copic markers
  • Copic liners 0.1
  • White ink, uniball signo angelic white 
  • Pencil and eraser :3

SKETCH

I have a clear vision of how I want Furirin to be drawn but the problem was how I want myself to be draw. So, I took lots of pictures of myself and obviously, picked the one with pencil. Sorry, I can't show the "model" picture itself but here's a timelapse video. 

LINEART

Time to transfer the sketch into the Kent paper. If you have read my strawberryart post, then you will know that I have made an impromptu tracing light but this time, I realized I was going to use one again and I needed a brighter light so I decided to buy a proper tracing light. It costs around $10 compared to branded ones which is around $60 to $100.

This is the final lineart. 

COLOR

Finally, the most stressful part. (LOL) I was torn between using watercolor and marker so I did a paper test first. The result, however, was that kent paper was not suitable with watercolor and paint would disappear with every stroke. So, I just went with the markers. Of all the steps in the process, coloring took a very long time. Maybe that's how coloring should be or maybe I'm just a slow poke but I took me a whole day and I was very exhausted after. 

VOILA! FINAL PRODUCT!!

That's it for this artwork. I hope you liked Furirin and please, tell me what you think about her. To my fellow artist, do you have a penspirit or an artist spirit? Also, look out for my post about Furirin.  



Check out my artistic friends

@jacinta.sevilla

@fukumineko

@noellesevilla

You MUST check out this amazing people

@surpassinggoogle

@mermaidvampire

@maverickinvictus

@topkpop

Thanks for stopping by.

See you on my next post. 

@korinkrafting


Sort:  

Your drawing is very nice, and full of life! You're indeed one of #steemitachiever's gems. :)

I remembered her chibi version. I love the blending bae and I love the red hair. Looks like an digi art. Never failed to impress mi. Keep it up !

RED FOR THE WIN!!!
Lately, all I see is red. hahaha
Thanks, bae. Always supportive!!

Nice drawing korin

As always, thank you, @sukiyakii

Omg Nikk! You did it again! WOW! I'm so glad you finished this one. This would've been a fantastic entry to @topkpop's contest. But by itself, it's simply amazing too!

I was really about so throw it away but then I thought, no, I’m wasting my energy again. Haha Took a really long time to finish but glad I did. Thanks, @noellesevilla!

Sugoi....
Master heika
(Redundant haha)

Iie, iie, iiie. Heika ga sugoi desu.
Hahaha

master heika korin wa sugoku

Hahaha uhhhhmmmmm

The @OriginalWorks bot has checked the text of this post and it appears original!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy. Please note, it only checks the text component!

Wow this is so great!!!! Tepach us senpai

Your sketch drawing is very nyc
I am also a sketch drawing maker u can check my first post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60696.11
ETH 3379.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52