MULAN WATERCOLOUR PAINTING

in #drawing6 years ago (edited)

20180330_143844.jpg

Hello!

I would like to share this painting that I did a couple fridays ago.

The prompt I got for this piece was Mulan. I kind of drew Mulan but at the time it was not really something that I wanted to draw so I just ended up drawing a girl that could be mulan, but you would not reconize her.

20180330_141040.jpg

As always here is my process

Cleaned up the sketch.
20180330_123221.jpg

20180330_130053.jpg

20180330_133710.jpg

Added my base colour. I wanted to go for a warmer tone for this piece.

20180330_134532.jpg

Layer over her skin colour...
20180330_135203.jpg

Darken the hair... The hair ended up being a little more purple than what I had hoped for. Sometimes my watercolours start to lift off of the paper if I layer it too much so I couldn't darken the colour. It gets a little annoying.
20180330_140041.jpg

Add some shading and details...
20180330_141010.jpg

...And done!

I got a bit lazy and impatient towards the end and got sloppy since I haven't been doing traditional art for a bit. But overall I think it turned out good.
20180330_143844.jpg

* * *

If you havent heard already @mashiliyanage, @chamudiliyanage and I are working on a little project.

We have created this tag, #tos, standing for

"Teens On Steem"

I will be tagging my posts under this from now on and if you are a teen so can you!
Using this tag we can start to unite and find other teens here on this platform and grow our teen community and help eachother.

So if you could resteem this post and get it out to any teens here on steemit that you know that would be very much appreciated.
And if you are a whale or a dolphin or just want to give us a hand in creating our community please contact any one of us, we are quite small and new to this platform and will accept any help we can get.

And if you would like to check out @mashiliyanage 's contest click here!
https://steemit.com/contest/@mashiliyanage/introducing-a-teen-community-in-steemit-let-s-make-steemit-a-better-place-for-young-ones-contest-inside
The contest is open to everyone!

Thank you so much for your time.

All work belongs to me.

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 21 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 12 SBD worth and should receive 59 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hello @justaboutart i like your technic drawing :)

Hi :) and thank you!

^-^/ yourewelcome

very nice:) I like it:)

Nice drawing. Yeah as you've said, it's a bit hard to think that it's Mulan but anyway, love the passion and the coloring. Btw, it looks so artistic.

Thank you! Yeah I didn't really want to draw something super animated at the time and I wanted to draw something more elegant, so I just followed the general idea of Mulan.

Yeah, anyways, it clearly describes her charcter.

This looks kinda different from Mulan but I can see her strength and courage on this girl. Mulan is one of my favorite movies. I have never seen anything than this that shows how strong is a girl and gives the respect she deserves. She's a motive to me.

I love your drawing as always. I especially adore its coloring. Shading and the other detail looks perfect. I wish I could be talented as you :)

Thank you, I'm glad you like it :) and I think Mulan is super motivational as well, although it has been a while since I have seen it. Maybe I should watch it again.

Yeah, you should. I just did :)

Ohh looks so nice !
I love watercolours and how they give this unmatched coloring to an art piece. Great work :)

Thank you so much! And I agree, I love the texture of watercolours :)

Awesome work! Very nice palette!

Thank you so much!

Wow, beautiful post ! Love the expression of the face and the design of the piece <3 She's a very pretty character and the colours are also very nice <3

upvotes

Thank you so much! I'm so glad you like it.

This is incredible! Great job! @teensteem @tos

Thank you so much and I can't wait to work with you!

Hello @justaboutart, thank you for sharing this creative work! If you're interested, take a look at our magazine @creativecrypto. We are all about art on the blockchain, and learning from creatives like you. Swing by and say hello!

Thank you! I will check it out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.02
ETH 2553.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78