Lost Dreams - pen portrait of girlsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #drawing7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170605_175817177~2.jpg

Portrait in the style of Gabriel Moreno. I like the style using pen and colours gives.
It's quite hard to read her expression, is she scared, angry, lost?
It took especially long time to get all the fine detail with pen.

IMG_20170605_175817177~3.jpg

I focused on the eyes alot as her expression is the focal point of the piece. There's almost a hidden story to what she's seen and been through.
I used the cross hatch technique to add shading to the face. The darkest parts are usually just above the eyes, under the nose and under the mouth.

IMG_20170605_175817177~4.jpg

To get the hair texture I used long curved lines and I found that the style looks better the more highlights appear. I used a fine liner pen to get more details and darker tone.

I experimented with adding random colours as the background and this added an interesting element to the piece.

IMG_20170605_175817177~2.jpg

Follow me @iansart for more...

Sort:  

I agree the pen and colors in the background give it a really interesting look and depth. Thanks for posting!

Love this! I would say that her expression looks like shes a mixture of scared, angry and lost all at the same time as you said. It kind of reminds me of a warrior mid battle, concentrating on her enemy. She needs the anger to keep her moving forward, but at the same time she is afraid and just a bit lost.
Great work! I will be looking forward to future posts! :)

Super .Subscribe to you

Nice detailing!!
Great work :)

Saturated colors under dark pen creates an interesting element to the piece. These are my favorite kinds of drawings. I look forward to seeing more of your art!

The expression is indeed amazing... Reminds me a lot of me... so in this case, I would say she's angry because she's lost... or feeling trapped...
I like how you explain how you did what - I paint too, but not professionally as much so every advice it useful in order to improve myself!
Followed, obviously ;)

Thanks! I agree, her expression alone can have multiple interpretations and I'm still learning as well. :)

Wow. I love it. I am hosting a giveaway for free steem. Please take a look at my post and enter! https://steemit.com/art/@flowerpowerart/win-steem-calling-all-new-steemit-artists-summer-steem-giveaway-1

Wow, this is wonderful! To me it feels like she's ready for battle, so yeah, probably angry and scared at the same time.

Congratulations @iansart! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59356.21
ETH 2723.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53