Just for fun #3 : Redrawing an old illustration

in #drawing7 years ago

love-vignette.jpg

Hi Steemers!

Today I wanted to share a redraw with you!

A long time ago, probably 5 or 6 years ago, I made this illustration, and at that time, I was quiete satisfied with it.
love.jpg

But a few month ago, I saw some people on Facebook redrawing old drawings, and sharing the old and the new version, to show the evolution of their work, an to show that if you work hard, you get better :-)

So I wanted to try... I took my old drawing, and made a new version of it to see what was my evolution.

Here is the step by step!

I took the old version, and I opened it with Photoshop. I décided to overpaint it. I didn't want to keep the pencil line. I began to make the hair and the faces, and a quick over paint of the bodies. In step 3, I changed the shadows of the faces, and worked on the skin.

step1.jpg

Step 4, I cleaned the edges, it was nearly finished. But then, I decided that the focus should be on the faces and on the kiss, not on the chest. The nipple was too present. I highlighted the faces with a pink layer and dissimulated the nipple with more feathers...
Step 6, I made some last little changes in the hair.

step2.jpg

And here is the new version!

love-fin.jpg

Here is the before-after versions :-) What do you think about it?

before-after.jpg

I really hope you liked it!!

If you enjoy my work, please upvote, resteem, and follow. Thank you!

See you soon with a new painting!

Hélène

Sort:  

Progress is so visible, and great one this new one!

Thank you very much @jungwatercolor :-)

I don't know if I would call this an evolution because the styles seem very different.
The with the black lines around it is quite reminiscent to me of Art Nouveau which I prefer. But the new one, and I say this with all due respect, just looks like the typical artistic style that's very popular at the moment (I don't know what it's called) I don't particularly like that style.
I think that the original picture looked better but you can disregard my commentary as I'm not that great at painting.

Hi @elfleda! Thank you for your comment! Don't worry, you don't upset me, thank you for your honnesty. I understand what you mean :-)

The newer one is definitely way more eye-catching compared to the original. Gorgeous!

Thanks a lot @hanbun!! :-)

I really like both styles, but great progress, the lighting is wonderful in the new one!

Thank you @juliakponsford! Yeah, I really enjoy the sweet pink light too ;-)

Wow, I never would have thought to paint directly over an old drawing. That's so unique and saves you from having to start over from scratch. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you for your comment @jamesartville! Yes, it's a lazy tactic ;-) I like drawing, of course, but my favorite part of the job when I make an illustration is coloring...

You progress a lot :D The new version is beautiful!

I think this is the best way I can express what I feel:

Your first sketch was waiting for you to complete it. You've grown, so it has grown.

Thank you very much @arthur.grafo :-)

So cool to see the subtle, but very beautiful additions you made! ❤️

Thank you very much for your appreciation @nolanh! :-)

Love this one, great palette color

Thank you very much @gonzeto! :-) And thank you for the resteem :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.39
ETH 3336.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70