Drawing Practise - Eyes & Mouths - Keep training & stay artistically fit!

in #drawing7 years ago (edited)

I didn't have a lot of time this weekend for a full drawing but managed some small drawing practise sketches of eyes & mouths (they kinda look like a weird Doctor Who monster when viewed at once!)

Tip: Even if you can't find a lot of time to create a full drawing it's always good to try and find some time to practise when ever you can, even if it's just little sketches like these. It keeps your muscle memory fresh and like any form of training, it just keeps you 'fit' for when the time to perform does present itself.

Drawn on Daler Canford Paper - Dreadnought Grey with Conté à Paris Pierre Noire 2B & Stabilo CarbOthello Titanium White (100) and a Tortillion paper stump.


eye_1_groundcontrol.jpg

eye_2_groundcontrol.jpg

eye_3_groundcontrol.jpg

eye_5_groundcontrol.jpg

Sort:  

Amazing! Would you be open to me using some of your art for my blogs?

I'm trying to develop a network of artists and writers who work together. Artists get promoted in other blogs, and writers get new exposure from the fans of the artists.

If you would like more details, see this post: Why don't we get more Images for our Blogs from other Steemians?

Also, perhaps you already know, but there is a Discord Server for Artists on Steemit. <3

Have Fun, and Steem on!

I checked your post and would be happy if you used my images in that way.
My only requirements are the images stay on steemit, not used for other blogs like wordpress, facebook, instagram, twitter etc as i don't use those services, only steemit.
And when they are used in your posts that they are linked back to my blog and referenced.
Looks like your doing that properly anyway so shouldn't be a problem.
Thanks!

excellent! thank you. do you discord?

Here ya go, I used two from this post in: How much Eye Contact is "just right"?. Thanks for the help!

Very, very nice! They're like a photograph!

Upvoted and following along! If I could draw like this... someday!

Thanks a lot! Drawing is a skill anyone can learn once they accept they'll never finish learning it.
Here's 2 quotes that will put things in perspective:
Michelangelo Buonarroti: 'If people knew how hard I had to work to gain my mastery, it would not seem so wonderful at all.'
Leonardo da Vinci (supposed final words): 'I have offended God and mankind because my work didn't reach the quality it should have.'

doesn't matter what you make as long as it's original content, looks very promising i must say. upvoted ,followed and resteemed

Hey thanks a lot for the comments and re-steem!
I appreciated it.

my pleasure :)

Excellent work :) Eyes are so much fun to draw, but I am nowhere near your level! :)

I think I'm going to need to follow you to see more of your work. Keep it up, its really good! :)

Thank you! Eyes are worth practising - draw a good eye and your portraits improve drastically - they are the windows of the soul and usually the first place you look when looking at a face. Get them right and your half way there.

Really good work, and I agree that it has to be done every day if we can, even small drawing can be the beginning of something bigger.

It's amazing that you are able to accomplish such detail with just 2 pencils and a smudgey thing ( obviously, I'm not artistically inclined). Does the grey paper help you capture the midtones?

Thanks! Yeah the grey paper solves a lot of the mid-tone issues. They are the hardest parts of rendering when you start with a white paper so you can cut out a lot of hassle by starting with a mid-tone grey and just focus on black & white. It'll help improve your skills which you'll be able to bring back to white paper.
"Tortillion" is just a fancy French way of saying 'smudgy thing' which is a good descriptive term for a paper stump!

Thanks for the post. Maybe I should practice a drawing everyday like you. :)

A drawing a day keeps the doctor away.
... or was it apples?...
Either way, yes try and draw every chance you can and it will add up over time, just like collecting steem!

Great work ! The human body is still to hard for me to draw ::p

very nice!
are you right or left handed?
i will guess right

yep right, always easier to draw the left eye than the right one.

right handed artists tend to go for more realism. not always but more than lefties. left handed artists tend to focus on creating more expressive art. i'm a righty

I play guitar lefty!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88