Painting Jon Snow from Game of Thrones | Step-by-Step

in #drawing6 years ago

Hey guys! I've been working on new art from fantasy books, games, movies, series and original creations as well. Today I'm going to show you a complete painting process and speed paint video from my last Jon Snow Fan Art.

jon snow tumb.jpg

Tools: iPad Pro, Procreate

First Step: Sketching

sketch.jpg

I already have in mind what I wanted, so it wasn't very time consuming to get the idea. I really wanted something more poster like, and a very dramatic feel.

Second Step: First base painting

painting 1.jpg

I wanted to concentrate in drawing by parts, it may not be the best workflow wise, but it is a more enjoyable and expressive way of painting. For the first base painting I changed the background color and began using a Nikko Rull brush from procreate which helped me to add texture and a color mix in just a few strokes. Also, added a very pale color to his face which pops out from the rest, making it a focus point in the artwork.

Third Step: Adding texture and depth

painting 2.jpg

I began adding texture to Jon Snow's hair, face and cape respectively. Since the climate of the his journey is cold and snowy, I wanted to also add a pink to peach mix in his nose and eyelids, a detail that makes him look alive.

Fourth Step: Painting Longclaw

painting 4.jpg

For Longclaw the sword, took the same treatment based on the past steps. To make the lighting texture of the sword, I used another layer on Procrate, and make a parallel white shape over the blade. Then erased its ends with a soft brush and lowered the opacity.

Fifth Step: More lightning, and background textures

jon_snow__game_of_thrones_fan_art____gabee_carrera_by_gabeecm-dchb660.jpg

At the end, I took a textured brush to make the background in a gentle way, added more lights and snow which helped to add a final atmosphere.


If you want to detail a bit more the process, you can check the video below to see the speed paint of this art work!

Hope you have liked my art.

Please remember to upvote or comment if you like my content, this will help me to grow and study my theme choices for making quality content.


Follow my Social Media

Art Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/gabeecos/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/GabeeCarreraArts/
Tumblr: http://gabeecarmon.tumblr.com/

Sort:  

Nicely done, Gabee. Look at that adorable sword <3.
Also good job detailing your step by step :).

-upvoted-

Thanks @scrawly ! I’m trying my best I can in my descriptions :D

lovely work, @gabeecm :> i love this style with the slightly childlike take on the characters (e.g. red runny nose cuz it's cold, etc.) ... a charming style and you captured him very well <3 with the pose, and his outfit and sword, as well <3

Thank you! I’m glad it is very well represented : D

aww, the style is so lovely, i like it ^^
though i don't watch the game of thrones, he looks as an interesting character, specially that sword


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Nice! Thank you very much!

This is awesome @gabeecm!!!
I like very much your style 🤠🎨

aww thank you @melooo182 is nice to know that!

Congratulations @gabeecm! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61191.20
ETH 2972.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48