Drawing Challenge#10 Tribute to the legend 向伟大致敬

in #drawing6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20171117_204407.jpg

I've spent another 3 hours on this artwork after the first version. Mainly using the pens below starting from the top: Pentel white gel pen, UniPaint marker, and White chalk oil color pencil which was also used in the first sketch.

IMG_20171117_211713.jpg

The subject is the legendary Michael Jackson and his classic hat.
Ironically, I fell for Michael the day he passed away as the television mourning him with the “You Are Not Alone". I fell in love with this song and immediately searched for all his songs and MV for the next few months, wondering how could I miss this astonishing artist when he was alive. I wished to draw a portrait of him as a gesture of tribute for a long time and this is the chance now.

The is an official entry for the Hat drawing contest bosted by @helene.

I've mentioned this artwork could be improved further, by making the white portion more vivid will enhance the contrast and makes everything pop on the paper. Seems like I was right. In the section below I put the previous work and the completed version side by side, you are the judge.

Comparison breakdown


Before: Hat and face portion

After: Enhance the hat detail and emphasis the light spot


Before: Shirt image was dull

After: Contrast is way stronger. Shining spots on the coat are really shining now.


Before: Bright part was lacking.

After: Improved the hand and sleeve details.


Before: Contrast was lacking.

After: Some simple highlight on the hand can really make the hand and pant outstanding.

IMG_20171117_204942.jpg

IMG_20171117_204407.jpg

There is a way to improve everything.

Don't forget to preserve artwork by using the fixtatif spray in this guide too.


这次的主题是万古不朽的 Michael Jackson 的经典戴帽形象。

很讽刺的,我真正认识 MJ 就是在他去世的那天。当时电视上播放着缅怀 MJ 的《You Are Not Alone》,听到的当下就立马爱上了。接下来的几个月把他所有的作品和 MV 统统翻出来欣赏研究,对这位传奇般的人物彻底心折了。一直想要画个人像来向他致敬,这次机会终于来了。

基于第一个版本,这次的加强功夫用了额外的三个小时来完成。主要功臣是图上的白墨笔和马克笔。在黑纸上要让图画变得更突出立体就是增强对比,其实也就是要有办法在应该显亮的白色部分使之变得更白,这时候单纯的白色铅笔比起白墨笔就逊色许多了。

上面的部分我将各个部分用第一版本和完整版本来对比,没有对比真的就没有伤害啊。看来我所相信的一切都可以变得更好是正确的。

完成了别忘记用正确的方式保存作品

正式用此版本来交功课,有兴趣的可以去参加由 @helene 举办的帽子绘画比赛


Sort:  

恭喜你!您的这篇文章入选 @justyy 今日榜单 【优秀被错过的文章】, 请继续努力!

Congratulations! This post has been selected by @justyy as today's 【Good Posts You May Miss】, Steem On!

Uhahhahh "if you like the content, you know what to do" hahhha upvoted!
Negative drawing at its finest.
Hao a!!!!
Following u! I make art too check it out if u have time lol
Ive never used black paper even tho i have some here. Thanks for the inspiration.
Xie xie 🎨

Haha, you know what to do indeed. Appreciate your heartful comment so much. You should really start doing the negative drawing too!

Thanks! I have ideas now thanks to you.
I have white charcoal but never opened hahaha.
Thts a funny footer. I like it. Haha
STEEM ON✔️
KEEP THE STEEMFIRE GOING 🔥

Hello, I remember you @fr3eze !
You donated to our common noble cause for the first time exactly 5 days ago. Have a great and prosperous day along with my up-vote! You fed me with 1 STEEM already but you can always make me stronger, if you want to. It will enable me to help you and your friends more often.

Yours, Spinny

I like very much when everyone who feeds me also reads my friend’s posts, so please visit @adrianobalan and read what he has to say! Your name will also appear here. :-) Join my Discord server if you want to meet others: https://discord.gg/Mz2EZP3

Powered by @adsactly.

Wow appreciate it!

黑底白筆選擇明智!

裁判威武!

very nice! Yeah, I think the key to great looking art generally always revolves around the contrast

Yeah need more contrast especially on a dark background.

This looks pretty neat. 😊

I am not sure, but just to be on the safe side. I think you still need to add your signature on the painting - for meeting all the contest entry requirements. 🙈

Thanks for reminding I forgot this vital part. Will amend later.

Great skills and well executed... Really great job!
You will make a fabulous entry with this piece...
Good luck!

Thanks for the kind words!

You are awesome and I love your work! The artwork has really popped up after you put on additional time, energy and skills.

Best of luck for the drawing challenge.

Yeah glad that things turned out better, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89