A Doodle Response to @jedau's Things I Used To Do: Drawing

in #drawing7 years ago

These little doodles were done in the margin of one of my college notebooks. I have no idea what class. When I'm taking notes and if the teacher has a tendency to get side tracked (or tell anecdotes), I doodle. It turns out that the doodles actually helped me to remember the notes. I am dyslexic, so, multiple choice tests are my nemesis. I use little tricks, like doodling, to help make the notes more memorable. If I could recall the notes, then I could likely figure out the correct answer, even if the answers all look the same.

I've experienced the ire of some teachers who think that doodling is a sign of inattention. I feel bad for their students. Teachers that get angry because of student doodling may be stifling the visual learner's process. Can you imagine how it would feel if you were taking notes and then got in trouble because the teacher didn't like the way you were doing it? That's craziness. The entire point of taking notes is to increase the likelihood of recalling the information.

This little character is my most frequently doodled creation. He's got many bodies, but basically the same face. I also have a ton of clouds and suns. I've got some trippier stuff somewhere. Will have to seek it out. I am not great with drawing, but I do love doodling. Sadly, I don't think that I've had the opportunity to doodle since college. I do hope that doodling isn't relegated to my school days, if that's the case then I'll have to think of doodling as "things I used to do."


NOTE 1: The idea for this post came from @jedau's Things I Used To Do: Drawing.

NOTE 2: If you draw or doodle and feel the urge to share, why not post your drawing and leave a comment about where we can find it?



finleyexp 2.jpg

Twitter: mfinley80
SteemIt Intro: What's Up, STEEMIT?! I'm Monique Finley, a Blogger, Poet, and Author of the Free E-Serial: Terra Damnata!
1st Steemiversary: A Year of Hard Lessons, Heartache, and Healing
Serial Novel: Terra Damnata, Book 1 of The Pu'Shing Bhu'Tons Series

Sort:  

This is awesome!! It's funny how his face is recurring but his bodies are interchangeable. Could it, in fact, be a mask instead? It's great that your doodles were used as a tool to help you study. I have dyslexic tendencies when reading, so I understand the struggle. It's cool that you were able to save these! Also, thanks for shoutout :D

Either masks or costumes. lol. It was fun reading your post and looking at your art. I hope you post more.

I hope I could post more, too. But, there's only so much I could manage without compromising quality. I'm planning on publishing a lot more next month though! I hope you do the same :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63639.69
ETH 2734.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61