Things I Used To Do: Drawing

in #catharseries7 years ago (edited)


draw.png
Image Source

Since I seem to be writing myself into a corner by pigeonholing this series into Tweets I Used To Do, I decided to switch things up and go back to a time before social media. For this week, I wanted to look back at the time when I used to...



No! Not Fig again! Ugh. No matter the clamor to #BringFigBack, I'm talking about a different beast altogether. Before I even started to lift up my pen and narrate the stories of the universes I create in my head, I lifted my pencil and tried to sketch them instead. Yes folks, I'm talking about my first (art) love...


drawing.png

For those of you who are wondering, I did not draw the cowboys who are, well, drawing in my cover image. I copied it from a more talented artist, Brandon Christopher Harris. I fear my skill in drawing had never even come close to that level, though I often wish it would.

Some might say that it's never too late, and I would like to believe that it's true. But, given the time afforded to me, I don't think I would ever get to a skill level where I'm satisfied. Perhaps when my passive income is averaging $100 a day, I would be able to devote all my time to drawing. But, until that time, all I could do is to take a trip down...


memorylane.png
Road Source

When I was a wee lad, way before I ever picked up my first dictionary, I expressed myself by going on tantrums or venturing off into the wild (a story for a different Things I Used To Do). But, whenever my parents were fortunate enough to have me settled in one place, I gravitated towards sketching. This is the part where I want to say that I miraculously replicated the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel on my very first try, but I don't want to lie. Even if I write fiction here on Steemit full-time.

It's not like I was one of those kids who drew on walls or floors, God no. I instead scribbled on books and prescription pads. Yeah I know, I know. I always chastise people who destroy books for art. But, that's because I was one of those people. Personally, I feel like only people who have experienced something should be allowed to judge people who do it. I didn't have as high a regard of books then, so forgive me for my past transgression. I knew not what I was doing.

And yes, I admit it. I've wasted many a tree in my quest to become the best artist around. For that I am sorry, my kinsmen from a different kingdom.


sadtree
Image Source

I wish I could take a snap of all of my past work, but alas most have either been taken by time or the trash compactor. So, I'll just try to recall my progression in honor of their memory.

Like many others, I started with stick figures. From the looks of Fig, it seems like I have never really gotten far. Pretty soon I figured out how to do simple animation by flipping through sheets of paper. I made stick figures dance while I consumed whole notebooks, and I was happy with my progress. If I remember correctly, I was in preschool when I learned this trick. I was so proud of myself. Heck, I felt like I was ahead of my peers during that time.

Eventually, I moved on to bigger things. I began to copy art from anywhere I could find it. We had a Sega Megadrive when I was a kid, and the first game I ever owned was Sonic & Knuckles. Little did I know that this game would have a huge impact on my life, but that's a story for a different post. Anyway, the cover image for that was what I copied. Specifically, this cover:


sonicandknux
Image Source

It was totally different from what I was used to, but I felt I was ready. Sadly, I wasn't, and I quickly became disappointed at my inability to perfectly replicate it. My mother suggested that I used onion paper so that I could easily trace the image. Once I got the hang of it, I would be able to draw it on my own. So, that's what I did. Lo and behold, it worked!

Knuckles became one of my favorite characters of all time, I even collected his entire comic book series. I still have it to this very day, though it's not in good shape :( It was a character I became known in drawing during my early elementary school years that when I came across a classmate of mine back then recently, that was the first thing she remembered me for.

I became obsessed with it. If my memory serves me correctly, the Sonic universe was the first one I ever expanded on. I created comics (stapled together bond paper) and sold them to my classmates. It was a complete comic, too. Filled with script and thought bubbles and panels, though there was no color. But, there was a story and dialogue! I guess you could say it was my first foray into fiction. It's my dream to be comic book creator, and while a part of that dream is still alive (to be a comic book writer), my artist dreams have all but vanished.

Aside from that, I was am also a big fan of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, so I took it upon myself to draw them as well. I became quite adept at drawing them that I later invented new characters that fit the mold. Leonardo is of course the best, and I won't take any arguments regarding that.

Eventually, anime took over, and I began drawing characters from Dragonball Z, Yu Yu Hakusho, Flame of Recca and, of course, Gundam. This was during the later years of my elementary school. My favorite one to draw was Duo Maxwell and his Gundam Deathscythe, because you know that I'm heading towards my angsty phase. Jeez I'm sorry I'm not able to post my drawing of those (or, uh, you're welcome), I have a whole sketchbook filled with that but I wasn't able to find it. I mean a real sketchbook, like a professional one. By this time, I already meant business. Sadly, I'm the only one who meant business.

This is the part where I tell you "Don't tell my mother"

You see, I love my mother. To pieces, in fact. But, of course, she has her faults. Whenever I reminisce about this and I muse out loud that I could've been a professional graphic artist, she always makes it a point to huff and puff, and walk away angrily. In a way, I guess a part of me does blame her for my drawing skill that wasn't nurtured. She put me through piano lessons and other stuff that she had been frustrated to learn for herself, but my real interests remained untapped. Don't get me wrong, I wasn't this savant that was waiting to be nudged in the right direction, but a little sharpening could've surely improved my skill. I mean, I was already drawing full scenes of anime shows that I have snapped using my camera.

Nothing anyone could do about it now. Still, it's interesting to think of the possibilities. I don't think I would've ventured into computer science if I had realized I had potential to be a graphic artist. Heck, I don't think I would even be a writer since I would be busy telling stories through my art.

All in all, I could've been a way different person had I chosen a different path. That's a branch of the butterfly effect that may be too all-encompassing. It's scary to think that pursuing another art form could drastically change a person. But, I do feel that would be the case if I became an artist. I might not be as brooding as I am now. Thankfully, I am, so you're welcome, world.


dev
Apprarently I copied this from a character from The Boondocks, but that was supposed to be me. Notice the hair.

Anyway, as I put drawing on the backburner, I decided to just doodle in my free time. I felt like I wasn't any good, so why should I spend more time with it. It's counter-intuitive, I know, but I was studying other things as the time. I went on to digital means, but I still took some time to draw with a pencil now and again.


103456_sifr_warrior-from-scratch.jpg
I call this one Warrior from Scratch. I wonder why.

When I ran out of artificial intelligence and ethical hacking electives back in college, I even enrolled in 3D Modelling. It wasn't my cup of tea, but hey, I learned a new medium of art. But, that didn't reinvigorate my passion for drawing.


130459_sifr_waking-up.jpg
This is entitled Waking Up, guess which movie inspired me to make this.

Eventually, over time, my skill degraded, and now I'm at a level where my gradeschool self drew better than what I can manage to doodle right now. Still, I can't help but wonder, with the middling progress I've been having with my writing, would I have done better if I pursued a career as an artist? Would switching now be the best choice? It's never too late, but I would be competing with gradeschoolers in terms of skill. At my age, that's not the level where I want to be at. But then again, that's why drawing is... a thing I used to do.



One thing that isn't something that I used to do, is to support Steemit. You can, too!


Vote for @lukestokes.mhth and @surpassinggoogle's @steemgigs witnesses for the betterment of Steemit! ;D

Sort:  

Man, I had no idea you were such an incredible artist! Is there nothing you can't do? Lol! Great stuff, I particularly love the "manga-esque" drawing of yourself.

Fantastic, my bro. :)

Is there nothing you can't do?

Yes... to draw good. Hahaha! I really wish I spent more time drawing so that all of the artwork that accompanies my stories are drawn by me. But sadly, my childhood was spent doing other things. If you would see all of my other drawings, your opinion about me would change for sure haha! I appreciate the compliment though, even though that's before you change your mind :D

My bro, you have no idea how bad a "drawer" I am. Words are (and will always be) my only paintbrush, so I commend you on another truly artistic gift you have. :)

I wouldn't call it a gift, but since I'm not a master wordsmith like yourself, it's good to expand my toolset. A jack-of-all-trades if you will. I don't know why, but it has always been the case for me. I appreciate the praise though, bro!

This is next-level stuff.

This is pure genius!

You nailed it!

You're a wizard at this!

You've got the X-factor!

I can't stop watching/reading/listening.

This is excellent work.

Wow man! You had serous skillz! Had or have might I say! I mean really, that Warriro from scratch is awesome. I have always been envious of people who ca draw. It is such a gift. It is never too late to fan those fires again!

I remember the film the 3d bit is from, although the name keeps slipping off my tongue. The one where they go into peoples dreams. With the sorta twist at the end with Leonardo diCaprio in it!

You should've seen my other drawings! That would've certainly changed your opinion haha! I haven't had much luck in finding them, but I'll post them in retrospect just so people would tell me that I did a good job switching gears to writing hahaha!

Dude, you make great animation! Who cares about all those fine details when you have your set of skills! I often get criticized for drawing flat characters, funnily enough from people who draw flat characters themselves haha!

Ding ding ding! We have a winner! The movie starts with 'I' and rhymes with schmerscmorception haha! And yes, it's the sequel to that little indie flick entitled Titanic. It's the one where Leo ends up after he's washed ashore by that treacherous Rose's greed.

Thank you for the compliment though, dude! It's much appreciated. And you know that your words mean a lot to me. Currently hovering above $5000/word, so that's huge! :D

Ah, it was a great film. I loved the ending sad though it was!

I always find that in a dark sea of comments yours stands out for me everytime matey chop lad!

5000 is fart too cheap for what they mean to me! :OD

I think it helps that I underwent that bioluminescence experiment a while back. While it's helpful to get noticed, it doesn't help at all when I'm trying to hide from the feds.

You're fart too kind, dude! Though I wish it were true!! That way, I could pay off my bills just by leaving thoughtful comments. That would be the dream!!

Damn the feds! Damn them What good jave they ever done for us!

Well apart from getting me fit enough for an ultra marathon what with all the running from them and all

Right?? I mean, for me, my sick parkour skillz was sharpened in my attempt to shake their tail. But, other than that, they haven't done much but mooch on our taxes! Damn them to hell!!

I think you need to go where the creativity leads you. Drawing is a great skill, and means of artistic expression. Like you I did this a lot as a kid. I haven't for many years and as such I would be very rusty at it. But if I felt the need to do it then i would, and see what happened. It would not be fit for sharing, but one has to (re)start somewhere. But writing is my thing these days.

It is a great skill, that's why I envy those who are great at it haha! I wouldn't share any of my recent work as well. I'm merciful enough not to etch it on the STEEM blockchain haha! But yeah, my body moves the way creativity points it too. Thanks for stopping by, mate! I appreciate it :D

Yes, the Blockchain does not forget, nor does it forgive. So probably a wise move until you are confident in what you share. I'm the same with my current drawing abilities. Best kept in a dark room someone under lock and key.

HAHA! I might change my mind when I find my older drawings though. If I truly want this to be a catharseries then I better be prepared to embarrass myself for the sake of catharsis haha!

I used to draw in my notebooks every day at school, and to this day I can't match the skill that my hand had achieved with those hours of daily practice. I remember taking a job as the cartoonist at college just a few years later, and I noticed that the fluidity of my lines and the surety of my eye was gone-- it was like starting over almost-- very frustrating when I couldn't produce the quality that I'd been able to easily throw on the paper during high school. I didn't have the hours to devote to the craft as I did when I was sitting at the grade-school desk all day long, and I noticed it painfully!
It looks to me like your drawings show potential, and your confidence can be seen in the warrior drawing, for example, and the time and patience can be seen in the work. That digital composition also is well-balanced and interesting to my eye, and I imagine that-- like me-- other interests and less time spent drawing added to the discouragement that you may have felt about your own drawing skills.
Oh and those little flip movies! My brother has a small library of those that we made as kids, drawing on index cards and securing them together with a rubber band at the top, but I haven't seen them in many years.
It all boils down to time devoted to a craft- my drawing skills definitely were neglected when I decided to also learn how to play piano!

Haha! It's funny to be reading this from someone whose skill in art I admire. You're right on the money with your observations, as always. Deliberate practice, grit and time really do make a difference and could easily make up for the lack of sheer talent. You're so on point with the factors that add to the discouragement, man haha!

I appreciate the compliment, brother! Coming from someone whose skill in drawing is exponentially better than mine, that's huge! I got a 4.0 in that subject, so even though it wasn't a fan favorite, at least it helped me land a spot on the dean's list haha!

Index cards? Wow! Those are expensive here, so as much as I wanted to use them, I was prevented from doing so haha! Though I remember some drawing there that I snuck in. It's great that you still kept it! Is piano the arch nemesis of drawing?! It's interesting to read about the similarities of our backstory, so thanks for sharing it :D

The good news is, that the small muscles in our hands that control the movement of the pencil can be redeveloped very quickly, and when I look back at the weekly editorial cartoons that forced me to start drawing again, they did improve a lot within a few weeks, so the skills are never too far away from reclaiming if needed.

As I recall, the index cards did become scarce at some point, but we made quite a few little movies before running out.

Ohh! SO you're saying that it's just like riding a bike? On the bright side, I wouldn't need to catch up too much. The downside is that I don't have that good of a skill in the first place.

You've done your homework.

So awesome you were into Sonic and Knuckles!

I had all the Sonic games for Genesis, and probably beat Sonic 2 like 10 times. By far my life's most exciting achievement when I was 12 or whatever.

I also was into drawing as a kid, and really got into drawing both of them, although I found Sonic way easier and more addicting to draw. If you look at my sketchbooks back then every other page was Sonic (and the rest were Spiderman, Batman, and Boba Fett, not necessarily in that order).

Also collected the Sonic Comics, although I must admit I never went so far as to make my own! That's a pretty cool accomplishment that you went all out with that.

WOAH! :O What are the odds of us running into each other? It's been awhile since I came across someone who had all the Sonic games as well. Man, Sonic 2 was definitely the hardest for me. I think I've beaten it barely only once. Though, I have beaten Knuckles' story in Sonic and Knuckles with my eyes closed. Suffice to say, it was my proudest achievement at the time as well at the time haha!

Really? Haha! We could've made quite the tandem, man! Knuckles all the way for me. I think there was a time when I hated Sonic because he always overshadows mah boy haha! Spider-man yeah I used to draw him a lot as well, I forgot to mention that! Maybe because a lot of other kids drew him as well that's why mine never stood out.

You know, I really wish that I could've kept all of those stapled together pages. I know the quality is terrible, but it might make an awesome memorabilia if I ever make it as a comic book writer haha!

Nice of you to share your experiences, man! Happy to discover the similarities :D

Yeah funny right? Nah Sonic 2 was the easiest for me... probably because I had no life and played it like a million times. Ah, those were the days. Now life keeps me too busy to invest so much time in video games, I think that's a good thing... not totally sure though :P

Sounds like we def have a lot in common. The next time I'm at my parents house in Chicago I'll have to dig out my old sketchbooks are make a similar post to this one, pretty cool idea.

Right, if you ever become a big time comic artist your "original" comic will sell for millions!!

That's a good thing! Don't even doubt it, man. Oh you definitely should make a similar post. I'm looking forward to it!

Haha! I'll be happy if it sells for thousands, because currently I haven't even broken 100 for my self-published work. But, that's aiming too low. Millions it is then!

Will do! Won't be a while since I don't plan on visiting my parents any time soon, but whenever I do I'll tag you in it ;)

That's right, at least shoot for a million.

Perhaps I shall endeavor putting on "lasers" on sharks while I'm at it mwahahaha!

now that would just be... evil. muwahahahah!!

Oh if only I could get my own mini me.

I always liked to draw, lamentably always was a taste of aho not happened, I'm really very bad drawing, however my eldest son is an excellent diffuser, comics were his favorite, always encourage him to continue with art, but never again drawing.
Thank you very much dear friend @jedau for sharing your passions
Have a great day.

It's never too late, my friend! Maybe one day when your son pursues art, he may be the illustrator and I would be the writer of a joint comic book :D

Count me in too!! :)

Alright! We'll make a global corporation out of it :D

I'm being funny and serious at the same time haha! That's the beauty of it :D

I loved drawing when I was a kid, and I definitely got started with, well we called it tracing paper but I'm guessing it's the same thing as onion paper, AND teenage mutant ninja turtles were some of my early drawings too:) Although for comics I was all about Riverdale, Archie and Jughead.

It's very cool of you to add Terry to your witness voting.

We need to get together in chat, I have an idea for the hardfork series for which prize money is involved :)

Archie might've been too complicated for me! But, thr Sonic comics were under Archie Comics, so there's the connection there :) I guess tracing paper is the same as onion paper haha! Sounds about the same at least! TMNT woohoo! No wonder we get along. We have that innate (turtle) power within ua haha

I've actually added @surpassinggoogle as a witness for a while now, but I kept forgetting to add my endorsement of him. Luke's almost in the Top 19, so once he's there, I'm making a push to get Terry join him there.

I'm currently out right now, but I'll message you tomorrow to discuss it. Looking forward to it

Good art is all about expression, not necessarily technical skills. Here is one of my favorite quotes from Pablo Picasso-

It took me four years to paint like Raphael, but a lifetime to paint like a child

That's a very great sentiment! I guess it boils down to what you're trying to convey though. If it's art for art's sake, then definitely, but if it for something like an informational poster or a comic book, then I feel it's a different story. I see what you mean though, and I definitely tried to apply that with my recent RAINBOW series art. Thanks for stopping by, man. I appreciate you sharing your thoughts :D

I used to draw too! Well, more like make abstract doodles. I was never very good at people or animals but, I could do interesting stuff with scenes and things. :D At least, I thought it was interesting. HAHA!

Abstract doodles is fine as well! Personally, my appreciation for fine art came a bit late. I was always so rigid about how art looks when I was younger. When I grew older though, my preference became more fluid. It was Georges Seurat who expanded my mind with that.

Post some of your work, let's have an abstract art-off! I'm sure many people would get in on that :D Thanks for stopping by, buddy!

I think I've got some things for that! lol. I don't know much about art or artists. I'll have to look him up.

Woohoo! Looking forward to seeing your abstract art! Do look him up, I'm sure you'll appreciate his art :D

Oh wow, I just looked him up. I've actually seen his work in the National Gallery in London. It's been a few years now. I really enjoyed it.

Woohoo! That's awesome! Personally, I think he gets too little recognition.

I don't know enough about him or art to comment. So I totally take your word for it. I've had the privilege of visiting a handful of museums around the world and while I can recall the trips and some of the things that I saw, I can't recall the names of most of the artists. So, I guess, the big hope is that posterity remembers the names of our stories, 'cause if the future people are like me, the names are... uh... what was I saying? ;)

Art is one of those things that I feel doesn't need to be studied (sorry art majors) Sure, there are pointers and rules, but I think expression and emotion holds more value for it. I once took an art appreciation elective, and while I appreciated it (and got a 4.0) on it, I feel like it would've been better served for something else.

Pfft I have a very similar storyline to you there! XD All the way from wanting to be a comic artist to deciding I was crap at drawing to concentrating more on writing XD I didn't get into the fandoms til I was a teenager though and it wasn't all I did (perhaps if I'd focused soley on fanart for something insanely popular in my early deviantART days I would be more popular now XD), I had too much of my own boring crap that no one else cared about floating around in my head that I wanted to do (okay that's a bit too general, there was at least one person that was interested and she was the one that actually helped kickstart AER).

Early teachers tried to steer me towards journalism though as that's a "real" and reliable job whereas "everyone" wants to be a bestselling author and almost everyone fails. And I'm pretty sure I've told you before how I got told quite definitively that I shouldn't bother with graphic design at all because there was no future in it XD

I've come full circle though, back into art/visual storytelling (haven't lost the writing love, as my History of the World outline containing 2000 years worth of AER history and insane character backstories will attest XD), and I'm an old fart, so you could thoroughly get back into it if you felt the inclination. But you know only if you really want to. If there is a time factor and you're enjoying the writing part more then that's where your focus should be :D

Haha! Finally, someone who still draws commented haha! Even though I gush about those things, I've never really been a "fan" of anything either. I'd rather create my own stuff than to subscribe to what's popular.

Oh, I've never known everyone wanted you to be a journalist. That's interesting. Me, I never wanted to be a journalist, but I became a student-journalist covering Sports back in college. Funny parallels right there. I think we always gravitate to what we're meant to do in the end. So, I'm just letting fate steer me every which way.

Thanks for sharing more of your backstory, mate! Always interesting to read how you peel back your layers, entertaining as always! :D

I didn't want to be a journalist XD I've done various report writing (including when I was doing science at uni) and strongly prefer creative writing. I think I drove the lab teachers a bit batty, poor things XD

I think we always gravitate to what we're meant to do in the end.

I think you're right :)

News writing somehow honed my creative writing for some reason. I'm sure that's not what they intended, since they want the facts haha! Maybe fiction is way better than reality.

If you were doing the proper type of journalism (which a good student paper would do) it would have made it sharper and more concise. Can't purple prose with the space limits you have in print media XD However while havin to be concise it also needs to be a good read otherwise nobody would read it. Well seems you've always been good at that ;D

Truth may be stranger than fiction but I agree XD

Oh huh, I guess you're right. The space limits might've sharpened my skill indeed. I remember being too lazy to write, that's why I was rooting for the other school to win so that I could cut my submission by half haha!

That is rather hilarious XD

It's silly when I look back at it haha! If I ever run out of things I used to do, that's a good topic I think haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80