I Confess: I Have Been Cheating on My Current Lover With an Old Friend From My PaststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #drawing8 years ago

That is exactly how I felt when I put down my markers and picked up the pencils I received as a gift for Christmas.

pexels_bye
image from pexels.com

When I was much younger, I was all about colored pencil -- it was my go-to media. By the time I was in high school I was past the experimenting stage and was beginning to let my talent shine. I created a some still life drawings in both graphite and colored pencil that kind of blew me away. (Unfortunately, I don't have anything left of my art from my youth; almost all were given as gifts or lost during moving day #__)

But, for who knows what reasons, I began to deny myself my talents somewhere along the way through those four years. Now that many years have since passed, I've begun to warm back up to drawing and making art. Here today, I share with you my recent re-acquaintance with my old love, the humble colored pencil.

I have been working on a lot of different little exercises and practice-type things in an effort to remember that creative energy I used back in my teens. I'm (obviously) not perfect, but I am pleased with my progression thus far.


red sphere
Kind of looks like a tomato-shape


green sphere
Almost done with this one. There are aspects of it I like, but I wouldn't call it great. Practice makes perfect ;)


I have some additional pictures of my colored pencil progress that I will be posting early this week. And by the way, I still love working with ink! You can see some of my ink drawings here:

https://steemit.com/drawing/@enternamehere/every-day-in-every-way-i-get-better-and-better
https://steemit.com/life/@enternamehere/i-became-familiar-with-mouths-this-week
https://steemit.com/life/@enternamehere/follow-me-as-i-continue-my-anatomy-exploration

Thanks for letting me share - don't forget to have a great day!

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.63 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 08 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Great! I love Prismacolors. They are the best

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44