Create an autumn forest village - step by step tutorialsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #drawing7 years ago (edited)

This was for a dungeons and dragons game-module, the client said he wished for the map to look "authentic" as if drawn by a real cartographer inside the game world.

I work with photoshop and a Wacom tablet. I hand-draw directly in software. This is a step by step process to creating the next illustration. This illustration is the result of over 15 hours of work.

Now an illustration like this is very intricate but when starting from the ground up you don't start with a very awesome thing. This is how I started this one.

1.jpg

That's just the main features and main linework that will help me lay down the details and later on the colors. I start by detailing the houses, the bridge and adding some semi transparent lines for the farms on the south.

2.jpg

Next I go ahead and detail the river and the forest. This is time consuming and kinda boring but necessary for an ok looking tree texture.

3.jpg

Another time consuming and intricate part, detailing grasslines. Notice how they are drawn in circular patterns that suggest the locations of terrain elevation. This will be further defined in the coloring and shading step.

4.jpg

Now I start with the decoration work. I added a margin, compass and title. The title, "Galifar's Hollow" is taken with inspiration from the kingdom of Galifar of the D&D Eberron campaign setting.

5.jpg

I now change the background for a wood colored parchment texture.

6.jpg

It doesn't look like real parchment because paper-parchment once it is really old, looks stained and used. To create the dated look I use soft brushed that look like splatters and ink stains. I set different opacities for differentiation and also use overlay layer masks to stain the "paper".

7.jpg

It's finally time to start using real colors. I'm using watercolor wash color and brush techniques. Here I started with the map's features. The main houses and the path, in autumn hues.

8.jpg

Next the ground and grass. Real grass and vegetation gets red in autumn at different rates and that's why the grass patches are not uniformly colored. But this is late autumn, hence the really orange-red hue.

9.jpg

My last step is coloring the trees and adding some number labels that are relevant to the RPG product where this illustration is going to be used. I also added some faded legends with a font type that pretends to be draconic language.

95 Galifar's Hollow-L.jpg

I'm a graphic illustrator and I focus my work in tabletop RPG games like dungeons and dragons.

I'm new on Steemit but have great aims to share my work in posts like this one where people can see illustrations be created from the ground up.

Send some love, likes and follow me for awesome cartography illustrations.

I do this full time and I love creating fantastic locations !

If you're interested in my work, take a look at my Patreon page

There is a pledge level that gives access to my photoshop source files, in case you wish to see my workflow and learn in the process.

Derek Ruiz

Sort:  

Hi Derek! This map is really cool! I see how you put tons of work into it. Great job. I am your new follower. see you around. best ! :-)

thanks a lot Agnes ! glad to meet you :D

This is a great post!

I am pleased to announce that your post has been featured in Max Curation Edition No.7 published on Steemit.

You can take a look at it HERE.

Congratulations! Upvoted and resteemed.

wow thanks a lot that's coooool

Your post is cool too! You're welcome!

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @derekvonzarovich. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @derekvonzarovich to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53