Drawing night with orcas!

in #drawing6 years ago (edited)

I haven't been drawing very often nowadays because I'm still adapting to my new environment. New PC, new software (Photoshop instead of Krita), new possibilities and things I can do (like playing games; I hadn't played games for two years!).

Here's one that I just drew.

imagen.png

I love sea creatures. I find them fascinating. I have been drawing animals for a while, including penguins, many penguins. But, drawing animals, I've mostly drawn dozens of pictures of birds (mostly hummingbirds) and I'm feeling the allure of the sea, particularly because Steem terminology surrounds the sea. Plankton, minnows, redfish, dolfins, orcas, whales, sharks, little fish...

I'm also reading a novel called Douluo Dalu where the main character (his name is Tang San) befriends some sharks, travels under the sea, beats an evil whale and becomes the Seagod, inheriting the position from a god whose name in Chinese is Bo Sa Dong (Poseidon, God of the Sea). All the time I've been reading it, I've been meaning to draw the creatures they describe, but I haven't had the time.

He once beat some evil orcas too! I was so excited about their shiny white backs that I jut had to draw some orcas or die. So there they are, I sketched a few orcas.

Now, here's the eye a blue whale!

imagen.png

Tang San also beat a big big whale. It was described as a very evil whale, but I love whales, so I had to lay down on my bed imagining the many ways this whale could be. I imagined it as a purplish blue whale. It was more than 200 meters long and it was blind in one eye, so it could only see from one eye. The previous Seagod had blinded its other eye :( Well, it was evil, or so they say.

So I drew the eye of a blue whale! I grabbed a very low res pic of a whale eye, so I couldn't see the details, but I drew it as I imagined it to be. Instead of whites, I used light blues, and instead of dark blues, I used dark purples, because that is how I imagined the big whale to be. I also stopped drawing after I had done the eye and the surroundings because it felt more ghostly. <3

Here are some penguins I painted when I was first learning to paint

Now, take into account that I was perhaps two or three months into drawing at this point (August 2017), and they were just very quick sketches (done in maybe 1-2 minutes per penguin) with very quick brushwork.

imagen.png

The reason I drew these penguins is quite curious. When I was starting to paint, I started with technique, drawing lines, then colours on Krita, and then I decided I wanted to learn how to paint things "fluently". I'm still far from proficient, but at that time, I saw a few Chinese paintings. I was also shown a guide for Chinese painting. This style inspired me because of its simplicity.

Authors use a very simple brushwork, but it's so precise that you can just imagine the things that they want to draw. I grabbed another guide to Chinese painting for beginners, something found online on a website that I can't find now, and I followed the instructions. I learned to draw lotus flowers (I already forgot how they look, but not the floating leaves that are so typical in Chinese paintings), tadpoles, butterflies and penguins!

Also little sharks!

imagen.png

There were other drawings but I have no idea where I left them. I think they're on the computer that broke, or on the slow one. Dunno. There were other kinds of fish too. I can't remember what they're called. Notice that the sharks are drawn with only 7 or 8 strokes depending on the position! I want to keep practicing that, but I'll leave that for another day. It's 4 am already.

I'm happy that I can finally draw again, even though I don't have much time given everything that I have set out to do recently. These last few days, I'm working on a project for Steem Monsters, which is a card game. I'm in some sort of a contest to build the world setting for the game. I love building worlds, so this is the most entertained I've been in months. :) But that means I don't have as much time to draw or play games, but tht's ok.

What do you think of my drawings? I particularly love my orcas.

Also, as a bonus, requested by an Italian friend, here's a 3000 x 2779 px version of the first orca picture for illustrations, wallpapers and such.

(To save it, right click the image, open link in a new window, then save)

Sort:  

Wow,beautiful drawing.
Looks like a professional artist.
good job,keep it up.

Lol, it was a very simple drawing, but thanks! I love the aesthetics. And I shall keep it up. :3

Excellent, the drawing that I liked the most was the eye of the whale, very professional and detailed, you continue like this, telling stories with drawings.

<3 Thank you. I'm glad you like my drawings. The whale's eye took me like 2 hours to make. I paid a lot of attention to each shade. :) The orcas instead took me around 15 to 20 minutes each.

You're welcome, i saw the effort, congrats :D

Sometimes the simplest is the best, beautiful job darling

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 9 SBD worth and should receive 81 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

simple drawing ,but like thik

Hello @cryptosharon, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87