100 Studies of Hands, pt 2

in #drawing6 years ago

So I am back with another post all about hand studies. If you haven't seen my first set of hand studies, you can check it out here. I am doing 100 studies in total and I'm hoping by the end, that some new neuro pathways will be formed and I will more easily turn the hand shapes in my mind.

I am already getting better at the structure and simplifying shapes where I see fit. Here's this weeks gallery: IMG_1588.JPG


IMG_1587.JPG


IMG_1585.JPG


IMG_1591.JPG


IMG_1582.JPG


IMG_1592.JPG


IMG_1583.JPG


IMG_1593.JPG


When doing some studies like these I try to keep a few things in mind.

  1. Compare your photo reference to how the master's have drawn a similar pose.

  2. Stay light and loose in the first underdrawing, and move onto more technical armatures afterward.

  3. Take your time! Speed comes with mastery and practice.


This week I spotted a fantastic watercolor artist @shibasaki. He has a fantastic sense of negative space and how to work the water bleed on the page. Here's a cool piece that I like. Definitely support this guy, he deserves it.

Some housekeeping news: I'll be doing some pro sketch cards for Marvel this month and I would love to here from you guys in the comments with your suggestions of who to draw. I will be selling three Artist Proofs for collectors, while the others will be part of a product line and sold by another company.

Hope you enjoyed my post and enjoying the great progress crypto currencies are a making lately.

Please Follow me @catapanoart for updates on my comic Star Circuit, comic art, tutorials and my thoughts on life and video games.

Website
Instagram
Youtube Tutorials
Twitter
Facebook
ArtStation

Sort:  

Se ve tan sencillo, pero cuesta. Una sola vez he logrado hacerlas bien y es por lo que dices, le dediqué mucho tiempo. Muy buen trabajo amigo.
Espero algún día verte pasar por mi blog.

Sorry it took me so long to translate what you wrote and reply. Thank you for your kind words and I’ll definitely check out your blog.

Nice! These look great! practice, practice, practice :)

Thanks, the basic studies is what pushes you to new plateaus.

I have to hand it to ya. Those are good studies -

Haha. Good one. And thanks, I gave it a lot of effort.

Dang. These are great. Mine always look like sausages! 😆

I appreciate you checking out my post. Keep at the practice!

I definitely will!

I've always struggled with the hands, and you made it look so easy! Nice job! Can't wait to see more!

Thank you but it's definitely a challenge for me. The best advice I've ever read is from Loomis who said, don't think of hands as a difficult task. Just spend as much time drawing them as you do the face or the body as a whole and they will reward you for it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88