Nato-Mondays (Tuesday) 100 Studies!

in #drawing7 years ago (edited)

Sorry for the late post on my Anatomy series, Hurricane Irma was a big pain.

introHand.jpg
Anyway, I've decided to start a series of drawings to begin to really get proficient at drawing hands. I know hands are some of the hardest things to draw and even harder to understand what you draw. But at the same time they are very rewarding, because just like the face, people can easily recognize the slightest differences between variations. And if you pull off a good drawing of a hand, they are instantly cool and interesting, not to mention they will convey a lot of emotion if drawn right.

To start, I drew some of the studies that Andrew Loomis has in his Heads and Hands book. You should really download the pdf, found here. Draw the many construction drawings and (MOST IMPORTANT) read the intro to the hands section and all the captions.

hands1.jpg

hands.jpg

hands3.jpg


Heres where I start doing the 100 studies. For now I've only started with 3 to show my level of finish and style. I use live reference or photo reference for all these studies. So, try some of your own and check out the post next week for more hand studies.

hands2.jpg

Thanks for stopping by. If you like my work please check out my work all across the web.

Website
Instagram
Youtube Tutorials
Twitter

Sort:  

Hands are vicious to draw. I am not the best at it....BUT actualy have more issues with feet.

I feel ya. I have issues with shoes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73