My attempts at sketching

in #drawing7 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians.

Today I want to share with you all my initial attempts at sketching.

I took up this hobby last week and spent some time on YouTube on the various techniques used to draw an accurate image.

Some guy drew miniature scenery another was into grid drawing. There were other more in depth videos of sketches by first practising free hand curves.

Of these, I liked the idea of miniature sketch and tried one or two before I finally stopped at one.

IMG_20170420_122200.jpg

This is an image of a kraken attacking a ship. Reminded me of pirates of c. I overdid it by adding the Atlas like figure below, but I thought I will keep it that way.

My other attempt is of a scene from a very special and interesting movie.

Any guesses ???

IMG_20170502_103940.jpg

No ?

Well it's my drawing surely, else you might have guessed by now(my brother didn't guess it right. And he is a fan)
It from the Guardians of the Galaxy 1, When Starlord attaches his helmet to Gamora to save her from dying and Yondu's ships appear majestically in the background

The next image I will try will be a book cover

cover 1289.jpg

From the Hitchhikers series. I love all those books and Zaphod is my favourite!

Hope you guys like this.. I will publish more of these disasters soon 🐧

Sort:  

That's nice (And if it's your first attempt, whoa!). I really liked how you worked hard and watched video tutorials on YouTube in order to become a perfectionist. Follow my blog to see my drawings and paintings (although, I haven't posted any drawings or sketches yet), but I'm going to post them in a while.
Followed and upvoted you. :)

Ditto. Did the same. Thank you for stopping by 🐰

Love the kraken attacking a ship. Would love to see you take that into Photoshop and ink it and finish it off. Keep up the good work, followed and up-voted.

Good idea !
I will definitely try that. I also draw in ms-paint (Microsoft). It's easier as I can draw things separately, like clouds trees etc and then resize and superimpose.

Will share those too 🕶🕶
Thank you for following, did da same
Happy Day

Very very nice! That's the thing about art, there's so many styles and ways to create new things that you could watch videos about every different way forever. I really like the kraken picture. You did a marvelous job with those tentacles. I know it must have taken you a while to add all the details on them. Well done 👍. And I agree with you, the picture is better without the figure of the man at the bottom. But, the best way to improve at drawing is by doing it often and trying new things. Even if it doesn't come out perfect...it'll help you in the end. I've followed you and can't wait to see your future stuff~ Have a great day! 😊

Yup . The tentacles were the last. I checked online how minute details matter in the bigger picture (my guardians of galaxy image lacks that )
Thank you for your comments . Followd and have a nice day ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67167.83
ETH 3499.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81