Dpoll 52: Do you buy a new mattress every 5 years?

in #dpoll4 years ago (edited)

Dpoll 52: Do you buy a new mattress every 5 years?


A good night rest is important.

Once we slept on the floor now we sleep on a mattress or use a waterbed or some special mattress or bed that guarantees us a good night.
I seldom have a good night's rest. No matter which bed I sleep in plus I struggle with the duvet lately. It does not fit on my bed since I bought a new duvet cover. I had to turn it 45° to make it fit in. I wonder how people can sleep underneath it, stay warm during a cold night in an unheated room if it can not even cover the mattress.

The only good news is the whole bed is mine.
I do not need to share it. Still, I sleep on the edge plus I am always facing the door. That must be the punishment of a mother, sleeping close to the door I mean. It's the shortest way out of bed if children need you and... to the toilet. Stumbling around in the dark, breaking my neck at night is not my kind of fun.

@rokhani wrote his son is back home.
Back home means back from the hospital. Once home he went straight to his bed. "An old mattress is better as a hospital bed." I totally agree with that. I had a huge lack of sleep during my stay in the hospital.

An old mattress...
My mattress is old and although they say you should buy a new one every 5 years I do not.
My children sleep on old mattresses too.

I wonder what happens if we all dump our mattress after five years. What a waste.

A mattress is expensive. It all depends on the kind of matress you have and your weight how soon you created a hole in it. Turning it around each month will do your mattress good too.

Do you buy a new mattres every five years?


  • Yes

  • No

  • Other, ... (Please share what)

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz or here. I appreciate your vote/opinion.

PhotoGrid_1567237329129.jpg

#CCC = #hive-166850

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.

Sort:  

Thank you for your vote.
What do you do with the old matress?

Thank you for your vote. 👍🏻

Voted for

  • No

🏆 Hi @wakeupkitty! You have received 0.05 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @davidke20
Subscribe and increase the reward for @wakeupkitty :) | For investors.

Voted for

  • No

Thank you for your vote. 👍

Voted for

  • Yes

Nope, no new mattress every five years. As you say, mattresses are expensive. And bulky, big, and too many of 'em in the landfill is a #carbonfootprint I'd rather not leave. In recent years, box springs are going out of fashion (yay!) and new mattresses are smaller, closer to the floor, less space-consuming in the landfill. I often envy the creatures who circle the meadow grass, flatten it into a bed, and sleep under the stars. If not for cold, wet, morning dew, I'd be there too. (And ticks. Ugh! And chiggers.) #BedBugs are spreading into residences now, and exterminators have been busy in the Midwest, tackling infestations in homes. Our daughter works as a patient care tech at a psychiatry clinic, and more than once, a patient has come in with deadbugs on their coats and shoes. What a nightmare for the clinic to evacuate and exterminate the area.
Mattresses... "away in a manger" (hay beneath our backs) sounds awesome to me. But chiggers, ticks, fleas. Dang.
Thanks for this @wakeupkitty!

@carolkean I never heard of anyone here ever having bedbugs.
I wonder if it exists here.
We turned the mattress once a week and vacuumed it against mites/allergies.

Now you mention hay...
My Granny had matresses filled with "seagrass" it looked like hay. We had more filled with it and I slept well on it.
It is a good option. Pity hay is dusty. You could make a mattress yourself.

Voted for

  • No

I'd say every 7-10 years probably.

Voted for

  • No

but I need one

Thank you for your vote. I hope you get one soon. My daughter could use a new one too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57184.88
ETH 3097.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41