You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is it cruel to own a pet?

in #dpoll5 years ago

Voted for

  • It depends, some animals are OK to keep as pets

From my understanding, house-cats & house-dogs were breed and domesticated to be pets, so I don't think we're fucking with their instinctual behaviors anymore.

However, let's say someone owns a bear. Well, I doubt that bear really wants to be kept in a fuckin' home all day, right? It probably wants to... I don't know, do bear things. Like... run or scratch some shit or something... catch some fish? I don't know, point is: "Normal" pets are probably fine [ as long as you love and care for them ], wild animals probably not so much.

Sort:  

From my understanding, house-cats & house-dogs were breed and domesticated to be pets, so I don't think we're fucking with their instinctual behaviors anymore.

Yeah, since like 10k+ years ago.

However, let's say someone owns a bear. Well, I doubt that bear really wants to be kept in a fuckin' home all day, right?

https://www.boredpanda.com/adopted-bear-russian-family-stepan/

😂

It probably wants to... I don't know, do bear things. Like... run or scratch some shit or something... catch some fish?

They like being read books like a child.

Great... Now you've gone and made me want to own a bear.
I'm blaming you when I get mauled to death bear mauling

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60200.47
ETH 3004.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63