Could black mirror S3E1 Nosedive be an analogy for steem? - SPOILERS!

in #dpoll5 years ago

Could black mirror S3E1 Nosedive be an analogy for steem? - SPOILERS!


**I have recently had the opportunity to watch the episode of black mirror called Nosedive. **

I must warn you! Spoilers ahead.

Setting

The episode is set in a not so distant future where people have a system in place designed to rate each other. The more powerful users have more voting power and influence on the network. The idea of the network is to deny people who the entire platform deems as unsocialized, rude and overall just unpleasant the access to many services, better housing and airplane tickets for example.

Steem vs BM (Black Mirror)

I found a few similarities with the steem network, one being the fact that the more people like you, the bigger influence you have on others content (in black mirror - lives). There have also been mentions of people in the high levels of society in black mirror vote each other up to gain even more power. On steem you also gain more money the more you have on the network - either the curation rewards or a return on investments.

Another big part of the episode is the fact that criticism disappears or is toned down to a minimum. Steem network does not have negative comments, criticism or anything else that could be viewed negatively by the author or other people. Why is that? I think people are afraid of losing money and/or want to uphold a reputation. I believe we should somehow bring people to post their honest thoughts and not just some filtered bullshit that they want others to like. I really got thinking about this problematic and really needed an opinion other than my own, so I am sure it is not just me. I really want to hear your opinions. Steem is meant to be an awesome platform to replace traditional media, it embraces free speech and yet has no critics because the system does not incentivize criticism.
The content is struggling to evolve, since nobody criticises it. I have found myself having to scroll through horrendous posts that are hard to read and not enjoyable with more rewards than my posts that were in my opinion on a much better level grammatically and topic wise.

Conclusion

I cannot really express all the similarities between BM and Steem, but I imagined each of the episode's problematics on the steem network. There are definitely a few things to think about.

Please, please oh pretty please write your opinions. Am I just viewing the entire topic a bit differently or did I actually stumble upon an interesting find. I am excited to interact with you in the comments under the post.

**Thanks for taking the time to read through and respond!
**


  • You are onto something

  • IDK... The topics dont seem to connect

  • The topics are somewhat connected

  • Other

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for

  • You are onto something

Thanks for voting :)

Voted for

  • You are onto something

Voted for

  • The topics are somewhat connected

VOICE form Block.One and Dan will be lack Mirror

Thanks for responding :) I unfortunately don't understand the added information provided by you...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for contributing to the dPoll content.

You have been upvoted from our community curation account (@dpoll.curation) in courtesy of This Guy... @bluerobo.

Come, join our community at dPoll discord server.


If you want to support dPoll curation, you can also delegate some steem power. Quick steem connect links to delegate:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP

Voted for

  • The topics are somewhat connected

I would skip past posts of people I feel commenting my disagreement will be an offense to them and thus making me an enemy who might be placed on auto flag :)

For example, I didn't vote on a recent poll asking to make some random user the CEO or COO whatsoever lol

Voted for

  • The topics are somewhat connected

Voted for

  • The topics are somewhat connected

Voted for

  • IDK... The topics dont seem to connect

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65