Adventures in Plant Propagation - Jade Cuttings

YAY! I got some of the jade cuttings planted!

(finished product shown first, 'cause I am just so excited)
IMAG1993.jpg

So, a little over three weeks ago, I did some butchering work on a jade plant that I had for a couple of years. It was leggy & rough & wonky & there was nothing to lose. So lots of leaves were popped off & some of the tips were stuck into water to root. This is what's going on with the leaves:

IMAG2054.jpg
The colour change is fascinating, I'll admit. There are no roots to be seen, and they aren't really withering away. I have nothing but time and patience, so these will just sit here until something happens (or until they rot & start smelling).

I checked my cuttings and their roots looked amazing, so I got to work on potting them up.

IMAG1980.jpg

All of them are about the same size, which for me is important because CONSISTENCY and because I said so.

IMAG1984.jpg
I mixed up some cactus soil with some seed starting medium, and mixed in some water. I let it sit for a bit, so that the moisture would spread through evenly. Wouldn't you know, the perfect amount was there in the pan to be used. Doesn't it feel good when you make exactly enough of something you're about to use?! And yes I am totally using a roasting pan for dirt mixin' - if you've got it, use it!

Get ready for these three amazing steps

Three Steps forPotting Jade Cuttings.jpg

REPEAT is step four, if you have more than one cutting (obviously)

IMAG1992.jpg

Now do a dance of happiness at your success

After you've finished dancing, put them somewhere where they get a fair amount of sun, and that you'll be able to admire them multiple times a day. Don't forget to water them carefully during the first few weeks! Mine are here above the bed, over looking the front part of the property, intermixed with vases and stones.
IMAG2061.jpg

So yay, these babies are in their new soil-home and seem to be pretty happy. I'm giving them a few more weeks for the roots to strengthen before I check on them more.

If anyone has tips or pointers for keeping jade plants as happy as possible, I'd love to hear them! Fertilizing schedules, NPK balances, pruning, and so on.

Sort:  

I love the last picture! Is like the Little's are being shown the inspiration to grow big and strong by the trees outside.

thank you, that's just beautiful - i hadn't thought of it that way!!! <3

Neat! I didn't know jade were so easy to propagate. The plants are quiet expensive. It seems it would be better to just get a few cuttings from a friend.

friends with plants are the best kinds of friends to have! :)

You got a 100.00% upvote from @greengrowth thanks to @twinislandflames! You too can use @GreenGrowth by sending your post URL in the memo field to the bot. Minimum bid is 0.01.

If you feel this post is spammy or not worthy of @Greengrowth you can contact a moderator in our Discord Channel https://discord.gg/6DhnVTQ.

I've never propagated my jade before! I didn't know you could possibly root from popped off leaves, either! Let me know if that works out. My jade is the first succulent that I am able to keep happy. I think usually I end up overwatering succulents? But on the last aloe I was mindful of that and STILL managed to kill the poor thing. So I am grateful the jade likes it here. 😊
She sits in my east window with several other plants (MIL tongue, wandering Jew, pothos). And honestly, my main plant food (with occasional egg shells and coffee grinds) squicks some people out, but it's soaking water from cloth menstrual pads. I feed all the plants with it. We're symbiotic. 😉

i do the same thing with my cloth pad soaking water!! well, as much as i can. i don't have enough plants to take up all of the daily soakings that happen that week.

i'll keep y'all updated on what's happening with the leaves. i have a feeling it'll be a big ol' NOTHING and that's okay, too!

The last pic is my fave too <3 all the little kids looking at the grown ups <3 <3
What an incredible view! Excellent propagating tutorial, those babies look happy:)

i do feel like this was one of my best tutorials yet. it also had the fewest actual steps, though! LOL

and thank you! it's an amazing view for sure, especially on the weekends when i walk back up with my coffee, to snuggle in bed with the kitteh <3

Oh my! Propagating succulents is so much fun! :D Your babies look amazing and they will be super happy on that window there. Just give the lots of light! You started them in water? I normally just put the cutting directly in soil and never had any problem with them. I find Jade super easy to propagate.

I don't think they will need lots of fertilizing. Maybe once a year in spring when they start growing. They need lots of light, and not too much water - they are succulents.

Also if you have the space, put them outside in a garden or patio in the warm months. They will love it. And you can keep them out until fall. Hide before frosts come.

Love it!! Great tutorial, and jade plants are just awesome!
Good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44