You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Open letter to those who provide Red Flag with downvotes

in #downvote5 years ago (edited)

When you go to downvote on steemit, there are reasons that appear for doing it. I always downvote for disagreement with rewards distribution if I do.

I did comment a couple of times but then do you comment every time you give an upvote? If not, why not? When I realised what "upvotes and downvotes" were then they are an equally important tool to help the steem ecosystem.

The way I see upvotes and downvotes now (since the latest hard fork) are ways of distributing rewards and are thus the same. You can either distribute rewards by an upvote if you think something deserves more rewards or you can redistribute rewards back to the pool with a downvote.

Do we go around Facebook asking why every one gives different reactions to a post? Every thumbs up and thumbs down on YouTube, reddit, Spotify etc?

That's my thoughts on it anyway but if we are going to go down the line of asking for reasons for downvotes, then we will need to do the same thing for upvotes.

Thanks for the tag, definitely something that needs to be talked about.

Nicky

Sort:  

Hi @nickyhavey

Well I understood it so you gave a downvote that you think the payment is too high and you probably read the whole post so you are sure your downvote will be correct. It is clearly not done by many others who provide downvote on records. I understand that dirty posts deserve it with spam and plagiarism.

But how do you calculate the values ​​of the downvote do you have a facet to it or is it at your discretion,

The ones I give upvote to are from 5 - 100 Power according to what content is of importance to me on their post as I read

On My own posts, I always give upvote to those who leave a comment and I reply too. It creates coziness and you also make new 🙂

Hey @xpilar, you're right, I do read every post I downvote and if I think it is receiving too high a payment - I just didn't comment on all but I will do now.

Here's my background so you know where I'm coming from. I'm a content creator myself and have been making posts here since March 2018 (travel and music) and have been featured many times by travel curators and picked up 3 or 4 curie rewards. I have never used bid bots myself and each post takes on average between 1-2 hours to write if it's a music post and 5-8 hours for a travel/life one.

I have read a lot of posts from various authors since I've been here of varying standard and by experience, you get to see and learn how much effort someone has put in to a post, the actual quality of the post (style, formatting, flow, readability etc), how informative it is, lessons taught and compare these against the current reward and I make a decision from there as to whether to upvote or downvote. This is for my manual votes. I follow curation trails from manual curation initiatives like c-squared, curie, travelfeed and steemitworldmap as I know they have similar approach.

I'm with you that not everyone does this, seems like some just downvote for the sake of doing but I'm not one of those people and I don't know if anyone else you have tagged has replied offering their points of view.

As I said before, I'm not out to start problems or wars (they are not good for this platform) and I don't work with anyone else on downvoting what I do. In fact I have given downvotes to some of those in your list from the original post!

I hope you understand the point of view I have with it all now and I'm not the enemy here 😁

As for upvoting comments on posts, it's rare to see that now since HF21 pretty much destroyed the rewards on voting comments. Makes it more difficult with more VP needed but kudos to you for that.

See you around 💪

Posted using Partiko Android

I want to thank you @nickyhavey very much for responding and highlighting what you are doing on the platform. If everyone did it the way you think, there would be no problems. At the time of writing, not many people have responded from the list I left out. It also shows that someone has a different agenda.

Today there was a red flag on this post and in my opinion it has nothing to do with bad content or the profits are too high. The account that gave me a red flag is very small and has no bearing on my profits or reputation.

But what worries me is that there are many such small accounts that are giving the red flag now. Imagine they have a different agenda and give the red flag to other small accounts that are of good quality, they will have a reputation issue going down instead of going up in reputation

@xpilar

And I want to thank you as well as I have learnt a lot from this discussion and will make sure I give constructive feedback on posts I come across, whether they are from big or small accounts, as I feel it is in our interest to help people grow on this platform (not just financially but skills as well).

As for these little accounts flagging, I know only what I've been told about them but basically, it seems like it's a network of accounts from camillesteemer. She got caught plagiarising a few times when she was uploading non-original music, claiming it as her own and has since been on a downvoting spree on everyone (me included). I remember when I got my first from that group of accounts and yes, it's not nice to see a downvote.

However, they are what I call "shell accounts" and have just left it running on auto pilot so there's no one behind the wheel so to speak. In terms of rewards, they are not doing anything so no need to worry about rewards being removed.

Unfortunately, I don't know what can be done about them other to say to people to ignore them as they don't post anything. Perhaps working with communities like steemterminal that plays a big part in onboarding new folks?

Posted using Partiko Android

hi @nickyhavey

And I want to thank you as well as I have learnt a lot from this discussion and will make sure I give constructive feedback on posts I come across, whether they are from big or small accounts, as I feel it is in our interest to help people grow on this platform (not just financially but skills as well).

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64036.76
ETH 2647.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78