You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Open letter to those who provide Red Flag with downvotes

in #downvote5 years ago (edited)

I think psychology has a lot to do with the problem. In the ideal world the system of flags should work properly, regulating the posts and increasing quality. However, we find out that people flag because they can, because they feel powerful, because they enjoy hurting others and because they have agendas. We have to remember that there is a percentage of humans who are sociopaths (impulsive and disregarding social rules) and another smaller percentage who are true psychopaths who enjoy hurting and taking advantage of people.

Sort:  

I can agree and disagree with you on this. If we look at the bots that throw DV senselessly like camillesteemer or whatever it's called then ya you're right.

But you are wrong to assume this for every person that DV.

The thing is, we are allowing too many posts gain too much with non quality content. Would you agree that a post about a horse talking about it being brown and black, containing a 3 sentence paragraph and two pictures, gain 75$ out of it? Or would you say, this is horse shit and downvote this crap? Those who make good posts deserves good upvotes.

We need to look at our jobs differently to be successful. Not abuse and be greedy. Talk to me about the sunshine and rain and get $100 and for sure youll find me dv-ing. Talk to me about the science of a tornado and make $2 you'll find me upvoting.

I haven't been DV anyone but since all this has come to my attention, I will definitely start. People need to stop being so butthurt over being flagged over a post they took no heart in writing just to get paid. If it's not good work it shouldn't be personal.

☝️ this, all of this!

Posted using Partiko Android

I do not assume that all downvoting people are bad agents. I am more concern about the effect. We cannot just ask people, not to be "butthurt", it is a natural reaction.

Hey @marcusantoniu26, for me, the downvoting tool is just as important as the upvoting tool in determining where rewards are distributed.

I have only used that downvote button maybe 10-15 times since HF 21 because I have disagreed with some of the post payouts that have happened. What's the actual harm in that?

Surely it's more harmful to the growth of Steem if we are only upvoting and distributing rewards in one direction for posts?

Not everyone who uses the downvote tool is on a power trip, enjoys hurting others or has an agenda.

Posted using Partiko Android

I do not see them as mirrors, just as negative interest rates are not mirrors of positive interest rates. I think there is power in just ignoring the poor quality posts.

You may want to check my latest post (Bluffer's Guide to Steem) as it explains almost everything in non-tech speak. There's some pretty useful comments in there as well and seems to have resonated with the steem community.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @marcusantoniu26

TThanks for the great feedback

I understand what you are saying and it is part of what is today using the flags,
so I hope a yellow flag with comment line must come first cause the red flag comes with a downvote

That is actually an idea I like, the yellow flag.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16