You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NEW PEOPLE: How to deal with jerks that love to censor ideas they dislike...

in #downvote7 years ago

The other day I was wondering about this possible refinement to the flagging process. If you flag someone a box pops up asking why you are flagging and you have to select one of the options, which might be a) plagiarism b) spam c) abuse d) other. If other you have to type your reason. Whatever you select then comes up as a comment on the post. It won't stop flagging, but it will force the person to give a reason, for all to see. So increased transparency. What do you think?

Sort:  

That box already pops up, but doesn't require selecting a choice and it doesn't add the comment. That'd be interesting to see but that is a UI aspect of the web it might work for people that use your particular web page, but it'd do nothing to those using other sites busy.org, zappl, chainbb, command line, steemdb, etc. It could help some though, but it wouldn't necessarily stop it. It might reduce it a great deal for new people that decide to use it.

I've never flagged, so I didn't know a box popped up. I suppose I'm suggesting tweaks to that box and how it works - forcing people to say why they've flagged and have it displayed.

All those technical aspects are a bit lost on me. I've never posted using those other ways in - can people upvote / flag through them as well? And you're saying that my suggestion could only be enforced on those voting / flagging directly through the Steemit interface, and not through others?

I wasn't necessarily thinking it would stop people, more that it would make them accountable to a certain level.

All those technical aspects are a bit lost on me. I've never posted using those other ways in - can people upvote / flag through them as well? And you're saying that my suggestion could only be enforced on those voting / flagging directly through the Steemit interface, and not through others?

Yes to both of those. :)

I think its a great idea kiwideb!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58049.95
ETH 3128.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21