You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Downsize and Declutter: Advice From A Reformed Hoarder

in #downsizing7 years ago

Ideally, I'd like to live in a forest. But then I'd also need a car to get around, and I've never had one of those, either. The biggest obstacle is the zoning laws: you can't just buy a piece of land and park it. There are laws about how long you can "camp" (which is legally what it would be considered) on your own land! If it was a permanent structure than there are minimum size requirements. In Fort Collins they have passed laws allowing for accessory dwellings but you MUST be on grid and then, necessarily, parked in someone's yard. It's so absurd...
Legally, you could park in a zoned trailer park and pay high lot fees and probably be in a bad neighborhood.
I'm like, okay ...can I buy a lot of land in a forest, zone it for a trailer park, and just park my one tiny, please?

Sort:  

Yeah, that's what I've found too. My initial plan was to live in a cheap RV and use the money I saved on rent to upgrade to a tiny house, but it would mean parking illegally, moving all the time, and always expecting cops to knock on my door.

I used to overnight pet sit and thought maybe I could incorporate the RV into my business, parking in the driveway instead of sleeping in the house, but nope, you're not allowed to do that either. Grrr.

There's a conversation going on about getting zoning approval for a tiny house community in Denver, but I don't think anyone has taken action yet: https://neighborland.com/ideas/den-a-tiny-house-community

The one they built for homeless people is in a temporary location, and they are still looking for a permanent spot. I hope we see more spaces for tiny houses allowed ...the current system is just money making madness at the expense of poor people who have nowhere to go. :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15