Counting Sheep - Doodle Doodledayeo round 12 challenge

in #doodleon7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

I'm back again with another illustration for a contest. This time I'm posting this before the deadline, so all good.

This drawing is for the "Doodle Doodledayeo challenge" by @opheliafu. The challenge consists on creating art inspired by three keywords.

This time, we had to draw something related to the words:

Star
Sheep
Town


I tried to stick to the theme, but I got carried away and I drew... Something barely related.


I call this illustration "Counting Sheep".

I thought these words were related to the concept of sleeping, of dreams. When we go to sleep our imagination runs wild. I mean, it wouldn't be strange if someone said they dreamed about a sheep-lady that soars in the sky, shining like a star.


Process:

Sketch

I got this idea fairly quickly, so there was no issue here. I just illustrated what I had in mind. I went for a girl because honestly I love doing animesque characters... and I'm not as good at drawing actual sheep.


Lineart

When I was happy with my sketch I quickly made the final lineart.


Base Colors

I picked colors that could be adequate for a sheep, but also ones that could be interpreted as "dreamy".


Details + Light

I added a lot of small details like the horn texture, the eyes (which are REALLY important when it comes to anime, at least for my personal style), the skin shine, etc. Basically, I tried to give it a sense of depth even if it was supposed to be cartoony.


Shadows

As I have said before, shadows bring the illustration together. At least for me.


Background

Even if I loved my character, I couldn't post just that. So I came up with a very simple silhouette background to represent the town late at night. I honestly suck at this part but I tried my best.





Final adjustments

I adjusted the light and shadows to fit the atmosphere. And done!


Here is a bonus gif of the whole process!


Thanks to YOU for checking out this post and thanks to @opheliafu for the opportunity to challenge myself creatively.

Steem on!

Sort:  

Your work looks really great, I wish to learn and produce similar results, best of luck for contest 👍

Thanks! It's actually a very simple process, you just have to focus on the purpose of each step.

Nice furry (not furry l) art)

Hahaha thank you. :)

This has been really sweet to appreciate, nice work.

Thank you!

im not so sure but, i think its still in the theme because the girl is like the sheep right

Hahaha yeah, she is a sheep. I took a different route with the theme but I am happy with the result.

Love how you added the light on the drawing. Amazing!

Thank you. It was a fun light practice because of all the light sources.

Very appealing style... great illustration @edenci ... welcome to #steem-cartoon 😊

Thank you for the warm welcome! I'm very happy to be here.

Nicely done!
please have a look at my latest post about art and tell me what you think!
https://steemit.com/art/@felixsander/force-a-smile

Incredible style, I like how you mix photography and illustration. Love the real feeling to it.

Great job, love the detailed step by step explanation.

Thanks, I will be posting processes regularly, so stay tuned!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @edenci to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42