Homage To The Biro Brothers

in #doodle8 years ago (edited)

Today's Bic Scrawl Is A Special One.

Not the images. They are just my usual scribbly, not quite art, doodling.

It's special because today I submit my Biro / Ballpoint creations in honour of the man who invented the Ballpoint, my favourite drawing medium.

LADISLAO JOSE BIRO

Today is his birthday.

He was born on this day in 1899.

I have mentioned in previous posts that I always draw with a Bic ballpoint pen. I have never stopped to think about its origins before.

Frustrated with blotting ink, Biro endeavoured to create a more usable implement. With help from his brother, Gyorgy, he created the humble ballpoint we use today.

They named the invention, Biro. In many countries including Australia the name is still used in reference to the humble ballpoint.

I can't help but wonder what we would be writing (and drawing) with today, if this Jewish man had not fled Nazi occupied Hungary during World War Two.

Would we still be blotting ink on paper with a nib?

Perhaps you have spotted googles doodle tribute to him today too

Sort:  

I'd totally upvote this post if it wasn't two years past payout. LOVE IT! You remind me of the godfather of graffiti, Vaughan Bode, who died young of an unfortunate accident. Forgive me for being so obtuse, but are all these drawings yours? If so, you are a genius!

"if this Jewish man had not fled Nazi occupied Hungary during World War Two" -- and I shudder to think how many great ideas, great novels, great musical compositions, and more, did NOT escape, but burned in the Holocauast.... too sad!!!

Those are really dope, I like them a lot.
Also I was not aware of the inventor of the ballpoint pen.
Thanks for bringing that up.

I loved yours. The one on the grid paper.
Epic doodle!

Thank you! Means a lot :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61766.31
ETH 2428.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64