Thank You Steemit For The 30 Days of Creativity.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Heading into 2018 I set myself a challenge.

To do something creative everyday.

Scribble, draw, doodle, riddle...

PSX_20180202_094710.jpg

The goal was to find a better balance. As my life continued to stagnate due to health issues and my world started to shrink I found myself spiralling.

I had less and less going on, and as time passed I found I was able to acheive less as a consequence. I began to describe myself as Nothing.

"I am nothing."

I wanted to add back something I enjoy. Something that would contribute to a positive balance and enhance my day.

It was also important that this small change be attainable.


I hate New Years Resolutions.

I never understood looking back on a year, and instead of acknowledging that you survived some tough stuff, judging yourself and projecting that judgement into the next year.

Then applying stringent and frequently unattainable rules that you have little chance of maintaining.
Followed by compounding that disapproval of self with the evidence you manufactured yourself with your unattainable goals.
Goals that were created from disbelief, self judgement and poor self concept.

So I didn't do that...

I decided to bring back my doodle #bicscrawl posts.

The closest I came to connecting with how I was really doing was projected abstractly within scribbly drawings or childish riddles.

At the completion of a month here is a sample of the creations so far.

Thank you to the numerous contests, challenges and collaborations that helped me find the motivation.

PSX_20180202_093255.jpg

Set yourself small realistic attainable goals. Activities you enjoy, not ones that punish you for not being something you tell yourself you should be. Achievable goals once attained provide the fuel and confidence to build upon. It is okay to have bigger goals and dreams. Starting small provides you with the stepping stones towards success rather than sabotaging yourself before you start.

Sort:  

"I am nothing"
Thoughts like these rising up to drown you, it's something I've struggled a bit with as well. Yet when you're actually creating something every day or week or so, you're able to look back and actually see something. Something you've created. Something that came from you and has value.
Those little realizations are what keep you afloat, and help you try to break out of the spiral.
Those little realizations are that guttering flame in the "darkness"
Hope.

Thank you for your words

You capture the essence of the past month for me. I have tangible evidence that I was here and I created these things.
...and in the process of doing these creative things I found more of my people. Thanks for being part of the treasure I gained from this time.

It's good to be among your own people, I'm glad to have encountered you among my travels through this new year.

Your art and your words fascinate me! This one is really heart-wrenching. You are not nothing, you are more than that health issue you are facing right now. Have hope because the universe will always have its secret packages being sent at random times. Continue on creating!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62312.95
ETH 2458.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65