Humor in the Politics Hashtag

in #dolphinschool6 years ago (edited)

The #politics hashtag on Steemit is filled with some of the most receptive people I've met on social media in the realm of politics. Receptive to discussing topics they know more or less about than the poster. Or more open to disagreement and civilized debate than found elsewhere. I've found a bit of a home there. For like-minds, Steemit is filled with libertarians. This is how I found my way here in the first place.

The space can be draining sometimes, which is expected with the topics covered. What I began searching for in people to follow to even out the scales heavily weighed towards dense reads and news about drone strikes, was some humor. I find 1 or 2 every couple weeks that consistently post some funny. I've been in this political game since 2003, and I miss the trolling to be honest. I need a fix sometimes, without wandering over to Twitter or Facebook.

Libertymemes hasn't been officially banned from Facebook yet so I don't think they have made their way over to Steemit yet, but the users I find scrolling through the "new" section are gold. For example, today I came across @pgveer. He posts the conservative or liberal "nonsense of the day", and from what I've seen so far, his posts will be a welcomed sight on my timeline when I'm stuck at the 9-5 or looking for a break from the 30th straight article on Turkish-Kurdish relations.

If anyone is or has any political satirists/cartoonists/trolls/wise-asses, through them my way. I look at the circus of politics with a large dose of dark humor, which 15 years and two Ron Paul campaigns will do to anyone.

DISCLAIMER: I use the term "troll" with the highest of compliments.

This post is part of the Dolphin Bootcamp I am participating in for the next ten days run by @markrmorrisjr. Great idea to build your community here on Steemit!

Image source

Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / WordPress / Patreon

Sort:  

I highly recommend @steeminganarchy. Often has very satirical articles and stories. I've followed him for some time. I tend to keep quiet on the politic side of things here at Steemit, but his satirical bent is appreciated.

Anyway, thanks for the Steemian shoutout, and you quality post. From a fellow #dolphinschool student.

Thanks! I checked out his page and he used the term "dark humor" in his most recent post.

Welcome to #dolphinschool, I am a fellow student. I can't say I have ever gotten into politics but I look forward to seeing the dark humor in it shining thorough your assignment posts.

With the political climate today, I tell people if they aren't into politics, it's a perfect time to stay that way. It's a tire fire right now. My focus is really on the wars that are fought for selfish reasons and the tragedy left behind. Can't bring myself to spend most of my weekends breaking down the most recent Trump comment or fake outrage story. War seems to be a little more important to the human experience to understand.

I have found some dark humor here on Steemit, and I try to work it into my write ups.

I'll be following you as part of my attempt to branch out a bit from the political sphere. "Unplugging" from such a high stress world is absolutely critical.

Nice post. I love the image at the top. As a libertarian myself, that's part of my attraction to the site as well, and frankly, politics is all comedy, except that it has tragic consequences far too often.

Now for the critique. You are obvously an accomplished writer, so I'll be careful here. If, without disrupting the flow, you can introduce more white space, and a little more formatting, like bold text, italics and headers, I think it would give your post more energy. You might also consider adding a second image, and a link to at least one of your ideal follower's pieces. Also, a link to dolphinschool was part of the assignment. You can add that at the end if you want to be considered for the revenue split.

Thank you for the structural ideas. That's what I'm looking for exactly. I'll add that dolphin school link now. I was burning the midnight oil when I wrote that. A little rushed.

Great! And I'll be following your stuff after this. I haven't really gotten into news over here.

Good to hear! I follow the #informationwar hashtag along with the #politics one. It's a type of curation guild/group here that curates most of my work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29