You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The USD is like a fence that keeps debt-slaves inside a labor camp: It "must" not collapse

in #dollar8 years ago

I often think (daydream?) about this. Not that I want chaos to reign or anything, but things will never "naturally" change in this kind of system, save some event like you described. I'd love to get rid of student debt by flipping them a gold coin and telling them to make a golf course with that.

Also, not to nitpick, but irregardless isn't a word. Someone else will point it out, thought I may as well do it.

Thanks for the article. I'm in a particular mood today and this is in line with what has me in a funk.

Sort:  

I'd love to get rid of student debt by flipping them a gold coin and telling them to make a golf course with that.

That's what they want to avoid really: People trying to escape the labor camp. But there is also the global dimension where entire countries can un-chain themselves by doing something similar (provided the USD is crushed).

Right. So how do you crush the USD when it's already been devalued to damn near nothing? I think the answer may lie in decoupling it from oil. Once that happens, bye bye world reserve status and hello reality.

when it's already been devalued to damn near nothing?

Trust me, it's not that bad. You'll realize it's bad when you see asset prices multiply (think Venezuela)... As for what will take to take it to the next level, increased use of alternative national currencies in global commodity markets (including but not limited to oil) might do the trick.

Asset prices don't have to multiply for me to realize it's bad now. This is Rome, and it is burning.

Nero was fiddling and Obama is a golfing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60675.01
ETH 2605.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64