DIY Aquaponics system from scraps

in #doityourself6 years ago


IMG_20180109_144719_small.jpg

Building Aquaponics from Scraps

So, I made a promice to a few nice steemians here that I would make a guide about this new project I had been working on - Aquaponics!
So what is Aquaponics? According to Wikipedia: " refers to any system that combines conventional aquaculture (raising aquatic animals such as snails, fish, crayfish or prawns in tanks) with hydroponics (cultivating plants in water) in a symbiotic environment."

Having a few pieces of an old metal gutter around, I figured it'd be nice to hang a bounch of them up, in a way that water from the top could run through all of them, in nice little waterfalls, and right into a big plastic pond, to be sucked up again with a small water pump.
So I hung them up that way, and put some soil and plants of strawberries and a lettuce:

IMG_20180109_144637.jpg

I started thinking what else I could do with it, and went online for some ideas, and figured i'll cover the plastic pond thing with nice lava stone, and put fish inside, and make aquaponics.
I have no fish yet, but everything else is ready.
I used a 12V electric pump, got it on Aliexpress, and plugged it to a small 12v solar panel, but you could use a standard 12v charger/transformator.

IMG_20180109_144709.jpg

The idea is that the water go back to the pond, where the fish live and poop, fertilizing the plants growing on top, and creating a symbiotic system.

IMG_20180109_144647.jpg

IMG_20180109_144701.jpg

Still handling a few more leaks, before I can bring fish in, but I will take more photos when it's done :)

Enjoy!

Simba

Sort:  

Congratulations @simba! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

you've returned!) wwooohoo))
you kept promises)

Yes I did! Woohoo! <3

Nice work metumtam ☺

Thanks Zurr :)

What a lovely little system you built @simba. What fish are you planning to use and what will you feed them? And the most important question: Is the pump solar powered? Can't wait for updates.
Moritz

Thanks! the pump is indeed solar, in my setup, and im planning on classic goldfish I guess, the kind you often see in ponds, I didnt give it much thought yet :)
btw my sister is running a permaculture farm here in Nahalal, Israel.

Great that its solar. Its the only way aquaponics make sense energetically. Does your sister have a steemit acoount as well?

No she doesn't..
But she has a website - http://kaimanahalal.org.il/

This is really nice. My mom had an aquaponic grow bed and it's awesome. Grows so fast. They butt it on their own. I can't wait to buy a house so i can build one of my own. I just started following you today. Saw pics of your grow. Did you grow that in an aquaponic grow bed?

Thanks! No, this new build is the first one that I have, the rest of the veggies are growing on soil :)

Nice. Well keep us posted on progress and any new developments with the grow bed. I think its fascinating

Cool my friend.

I think this post is very detailed and inspiring because I’ve wanted to do something like this on the side of my house but haven’t done it yet.

One piece of advice which I know I would greatly appreciate is maybe think about putting a suggested parts list. Kinda like how people have asked if it was a solar powered pump and etc.

Keep the great content coming.

You're right :) I wanted to, and I forgot :) I will make a new post on that tonight or tommorow :)
The pump doesnt have to be solar, I like solar stuff (check my previous posts) so I used solar for that with a small system that I bought (also detailed in past posts, with part list!)
Thank you :)

Your vote is too low 0.5 i send you vote 1.5

Thats mighty kind of you heres a vote my friend:)

Good job @simba
Success for you friend
I upvote and resteem

Terimakasih @simba ilmu pengetahuan, saya akan mencoba seperti anda

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39