You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Here is my rotten Lilly, who owns a piece of my heart!

in #dogsofsteemit6 years ago (edited)

You should see a flame spray booth! It is basically a spray paint can that sprays molten metal like paint! The use it to add metal back to older parts so they can be reground back to original size.

Life is filled with wonders, and it is never boring!

:D

Sort:  

well sir smithlabs all of this is freaky, I mean I thought not long ago I read that they couldn't do metal with 3D printers because metal wasn't liquid! now they are doing it!

With sufficient energy input, metal is liquid; or with more energy, it becomes a gas. All that is required is a significant, controlled, input of said energy. For a small deposit of metal, a small energy surge will be enough. I would us a large capacitance storage bank of capacitors. A pulsed RF starter (kind of an arc igniter) would give precision control.

I add energy in an electric furnace, and pour metal into molds. Very few limits on what can be made that way.

:)

ok well sir smithlabs I would like to see these metal printers in action, are there any videos of such machines?

Many things wrong with this setup. No safety gear, he is spraying onto a machine tool, which will destroy that tool. He is hand holding the part. BUT this shows the basic function, and you see this is a LOW tech shop! He is building up the part he is holding, so he can rework it.

Enjoy :D

ok so that video shows the basic process, that's the way it would look in the metal 3D printers?

They are wimps! They are using sintered metal (I have some here in fact) which is a powdered metal held by a binder. It has to be baked as a second process, so they do NOT print metal

That is how I would do it:

They are using a powder bed with a doctor blade that will print metal directly (the sintered metal power is lasered back to metal in the printer. This one is slow, and serious health risk, avoid this!

@janton I am going to have to get you a youtube access channel....

:'(

howdy back sir smithlabs, what do you mean a youtube access channel?

Easy search for 3-d printing on youtube, I thought your computer would only open Steemit...ROFLOL!

Trying to hook you up!

:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46