You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Here is my rotten Lilly, who owns a piece of my heart!

in #dogsofsteemit6 years ago

Not just HP, there are a dozen or so working on this problem. HP is a good company, I am not surprised they are ahead.

The problem is, every time they move, they strike a small arc. This arc, by it's very nature; generates massive EMI (electro-magnetic Interference) and the system must filter this EMI out so it does not affect the motion control work.

I would split the two. Move...arc...move...arc... A little slower, but it would run forever.

:)

Sort:  

oh ok well I'm sure that one of the main goals is about speed so they can have a high volume of parts being made right?

Yes, it is a trade off. Also, different metals will need different settings. Soft steel will run faster than high carbon steel will. Stainless Steel, will be slower yet, so the production speed will vary significantly.

Right now 3-D printing of plastic, dipped in ceramic coatings, and poured with required metal, is the quickest way to get metal part made in bulk.

:)

sir smithlabs..how can there be stainless steel and high carbon steel in liquid form? you telling me they have that kind of technology? I mean without it being molten.

A MIG melts the metal with the arc, whatever that metal is. The metal is fed as wire, into the MIG, when the wire touches, it arcs the tip off and deposit what it burned; to the new object.

I think I could do this myself with my 3-D printer tied to my MIG welder.

:D

no way sir smithlabs, no way. if you do you have to do posts about it because people have no idea that this can be done with metals.

You should see a flame spray booth! It is basically a spray paint can that sprays molten metal like paint! The use it to add metal back to older parts so they can be reground back to original size.

Life is filled with wonders, and it is never boring!

:D

well sir smithlabs all of this is freaky, I mean I thought not long ago I read that they couldn't do metal with 3D printers because metal wasn't liquid! now they are doing it!

With sufficient energy input, metal is liquid; or with more energy, it becomes a gas. All that is required is a significant, controlled, input of said energy. For a small deposit of metal, a small energy surge will be enough. I would us a large capacitance storage bank of capacitors. A pulsed RF starter (kind of an arc igniter) would give precision control.

I add energy in an electric furnace, and pour metal into molds. Very few limits on what can be made that way.

:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 62001.44
ETH 3479.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51