Hyper Piper

in #dogsofsteemit5 years ago

A while back in the summer, I wrote about when we got a new puppy. We struggled to find the perfect name, it actually took us almost a month to find one. Trying out a few here and there for a few days until the name, Piper, stuck.

We got her in June I believe. Just a tiny pup at 2 months old.

She was spunky in her early puppy age. Learning about her surroundings, pouncing on things that moved. Walking, running and stumbling as she was still clumsy on her legs, trying to figure out how to get them to all work properly as she ran.

She grew some of the summer, developing longer legs and a nose that would not fail. Her nose guided her everywhere and she followed it passionately, from digging holes to running after the smell that trailed from the BBQ.

She enjoys her walks in the trails of the forest. But her most favorite thing to do is dig where there is already a hole. An animal dwelling is the most interesting thing in the world. What she may discover is the greatest mystery of all.

Today, she is 7 months old and she is as spunky as ever! Filled with joy, attitude, curiosity, playfulness and everything buy gentleness. She still hasn't figured out how big she is and when she gets excited... GET OUT OF THE WAY! Especially for the kids that are so easily knocked down as she runs through the hallway.

Piper has learned to communicate in the best of ways that make her personality. She tells me most loudly when she wants to play, her bark will one day deafen me. I am teaching her to use this communication skills to be at an advantage when telling me what she wants through asking her a series of questions and her answering me.

Now Piper is a mix breed. Her father being pure German Rottweiler and her mother being Doberman husky mix has made her into quite a mix. You know how huskies can be quite hyper and playful, high energy and just go go go? Ya that's why she carries the nickname Hyper Piper. She often gets the 'zoomies', the kids love it when she gets like that. And if you don't know what I mean by the zoomies, here's a Youtube video for the perfect description:

She does this on a daily basis which I love! But as much as she can be hyper, she can also be stubborn and give attitude. Now this is where her mix breed comes in to play. When shes being all cute and sassy she looks like a rottie. But when she's full of attitude, boy does she ever look like a doberman. I wish I could show pictures to compare but she is not fond of the 'sit pretty for the picture'. If she sees my phone aiming at her, she jumps and wants to eat it.

To this day she still enjoys pouncing on things very much. And in the snow, it's the perfect time to pounce in the snow bank and dig her way to the bottom. Oh how that is cute. I love her pouncing. Now if she can just stop jumping on me though....

So this is Piper, 7 months old, and I still can't tell how she will be when fully grown. On all four legs, she stands at 22 inches (foot to back). When she stands tall on two legs, she stands at almost 55 inches (foot to head). Her knuckles are big again, which means she will grow some more. Will she be tall like the doberman, fast like the husky and strong like the rottweiler? I am excited to see. We plan on training her to pull sleigh this winter. We tried it already and she took it quite well.


She is biting my hand, not sucking my thumb... Just putting that out there.

This is Piper's growing up story, a member of the family, with us till the end ❤

Have you heard about #dogsofsteemit? @supernovastaffy does a wonderful challenge every Monday, supporting our fellow Steemians and our 4 legged family members. Check out this week's Monday's post.

Foxyspirit.jpg

Sort:  

Snap! Meet buddy. Rottweiler and red setter mixed breed! He is friendliest dog every . 2 now . He’s a tank but looked very like piper when’s he was little 87AB444F-AA3D-4084-B006-637A51F8EA79.jpeg2BF04474-9A3D-4C27-A89B-5F1517714082.jpeg

Hi Buddy! Oh he does look like an amazing dog!

My daughter just saw these pictures and said 'hey its Piper' lol... no no that's not Piper :p Thank you for sharing you puppy pics! I love the one with the cat.

That’s Jeff . The problem Child 😂😂😂. In the photo buddy is worried he gets a claw in the snout.

What a beauty @foxyspirit

She is a very pretty dog and looks an absolute handful. Good luck with that.

I will show my daughter the pics. She will go mad for her!

Gaz

Aw thanks! Let me know what you're daughter says. My youngest one loves seeing dog and cat pictures. All I hear is "AAAAAAAAAAWWW look at the wittle kitty/puppy. Moooooomyyyy looooook!" LOL.

I have a rottie, and it took me about a month to settle on a name too. For a long time, his name was just "buddy" or "pupper" or things of that nature, while waiting to find a good name for him haha

In my opinion, rotties aren't just like any other dog. They need to carry a strong name, majestic and suitable to their personality. An animal we need to learn of first :)

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Good looking dog you have there, I would guess she is 2/3 the size she will end up at. Just my guess.

Thanks!
I think that is a reasonable guess. I am just wondering if she will grow taller or if she will fill out and resemble more of the rottweiler.

Whew, she's still growing too. But soon you'll know how big Piper will be. Opal does some fun zoomies too! Bounces between two couches haha.

I love the zoomies and so do the kids! They laugh hysterically as she zooms right by :D

Hello @foxyspirit!

Congratulations! Thanks for using the #dogsofsteemit hashtag! This post has been chosen as one of the winners for Episode 47 of the #dogsofsteemit challenge.

Can't wait to see more dog photos from you!

Piper seems like an amazing day. I know those "Zoomies" quite well! My girl, Nova, goes crazy with the zoomies in the backyard when she gets overexcited

Oh my gosh! Thank you <3

I am so happy that I get to share some of the puppy experiences with you all. Piper is an amazing dog and training is going well as long as we stay persistent with it.

Zoomies are the best. I think they are the goofiest of things when they do it ^_^

She's so pretty! I don't have any dogs myself, but I do love them. I'm lucky enough to have plenty of family and friends with dogs that I can pet and get my puppy fix every now and then. I like the name Piper, too!

My mother-in-law's husband is the same way. He brings treats for our dogs when they come for a visit. Doesn't want any dogs right now because he works but I swear to you, my other dog Moe would be his. Moe loves him like if he owned him lol. Could be the treats too. :p

Haha, love that. There used to be a client of another trainer that I work with who brought her dog Maddie in to the gym. She would sit with me the entire time her mommy worked out. A sweet little silver schnauzer that was totally my spirit animal. :)

Sweet! Puppy pals are the best.

My other dog is a mini schnauzer mix. Not sure what he is mixed with but something with curly hair. Here's a picture of him after being groomed. It never stays groomed long enough though.

That was when we got him. His fur was all matted so they had to cut it all off.

Oh he's so cute! 😍 Ok, I gotta do it now...
IMG_20171101_162019_392.jpg

OMG THOSE EARS!!!!!!!!!! He looks so fun yet so serious lol. Oh dogs are the best <3

I totally missed this one this is so great as a mum to an 11 month old bundle of fur I can appreciate these blogs and lively Yo See uou in @supernovastaffy s contest gotta flaunt Our furries!

Oh you too, you have a puppy! What breed?

Yes definitely flaunt our four legged friends :D <3

Hello pipper is gorgeous!!!She was soooo tiny and growing big the video of the husky made me laugh:)So funny:)

She knows how to be adorable too! You know the puppy eyes? Ya she knows how to do it at just the right moment :p

Hooo the cute puppy eyes that you cant resist!!!:)

Happy 7 month Birthday Piper! :D Oh and I need to ask about a... Boob cake??!!!!! :o
BB xx
#steemitbloggers

Woah!!! Where did this come from? Have you been talking to @zord189?
Who is talking about boob cakes? I don't know what you are talking about. 🤷😂Um... long story short. Boob cake saved the day lol.

Hahahha, haven't seen u in awhile in the channels @foxyspirit! Hope you're doing fine. :)

I have been back for about a week now. Doing my support rounds and trying to catch up. When things are settled, I will be in to say hi and spend some time there. Just taking my time as to not overwhelm. Things are good and I hope they are for you as well :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94