Visiting my old training area again - Meijendel

in #dogsofsteemit6 years ago (edited)

That was fun - I hope we will go there soon again

Yesterday, we visited an area called Meijendel where I had my training as a tracker dog to find lost people.
We haven't been there for more than a year. But when I stepped out of the car I could only think about one thing: tracking!
That's the only thing I did here until now.

Most important thing to do after not being there for such a long time

Telling everybody that I'm back!

rc7tmvm2rq.jpg

OK - now we can start

A sign showed us the way to go. As if I wouldn't know!
This was my tracking area. I find everything and everybody here!

j83yjkd1yv.jpg

This area called Meijendel is huge

2000 hectare = almost 5000 acres = 20 square kilometre = almost 8 square miles
The only disadvantage is that I need to stay on the leash but my humans have this long leash that gives me some freedom.
I would love to run around ... but OK, there are also some huge animals running free and it might be better not to get too close to these.
Horses and buffalos are only some of them. Yesterday we only met a horse. Perhaps the buffalos were hiding from me?

r5q8fm335u.jpg

The horse showed a lot of respect and did not move at all while watching us closely.

2bcpdf5vzc.jpg

Why don't these animals just leave the area?

You might wonder what keeps the animals inside the area.
The humans put an electric wire around the entire area with several entrances/exits. These are built in a way that animals can't get out.
A door that closes itself and some kind of grid on the ground.

12li8znnfy.jpg

My humans took a lot of photos

Sometimes I just sat down and waited. But not without looking around to find my new "target".

7bza4y98eg.jpg

Humans are funny sometimes

They built an area called "The Monkeywood". There are no monkeys but humans (mainly children) behaving like monkeys.
Climbing and jumping around as if there was no tomorrow.
I was not allowed to enter that area - actually I was glad we didn't. Children behaving like monkeys could get me irritated ...

uyni7mml8a.jpg

Humans need to train their senses

To find this area they set up some big signs. Just use your nose and ears. It can be found easily.

so4jpf7zel.jpg

Additionally humans need to be told how to behave

It looks like humans need to be told rules for everything.
We all need to learn some rules of course. But sometimes I don't understand that really simple rules need to be repeated again and again.
I also do not 💩 in the living room even I'm not reminded for the last 6 years. Perhaps humans can't remember the simplest rules very long.

k7pjmucgn6.jpg

The board says:

  • you play on your own risk
  • play together and do not fight
  • do not destroy anything on purpose
  • do not leave trash
  • no dogs allowed
  • never make a fire in the forest
  • do not park your bike in the forest but at the farm

Please tell me, humans - is there any rule on the board that does not speak for itself?

I hope we will visit that area soon again

There is still so much to discover. We only walked there for about one hour because we wanted to in the car again before the rain started. As you might remember, I hate rain!
If you ever are somewhere around Meijendel be sure to take a walk there. There is also a restaurant where you can recover from your walks.

Did you enjoy this virtual walk as much as I enjoyed the real one?

CU around,
your Marley 🐕

Sort:  

Hi @dog-marley,

Thanks so much for partaking in #dailypetphotography! Please follow @dpet for upcoming events.
Our discord channel is up and running, come on over and say hi, lots of avil pet owners are awaiting you there.
https://discord.gg/GYrnsNm

Thank you for stopping by and your support @dpet!!! :)

Hello @dog-marley!

Congratulations! Thanks for using the #dogsofsteemit hashtag! This post has been chosen as one of the winners for Episode 40 of the #dogsofsteemit challenge.

Can't wait to see more dog photos from you!

Thanks again for your support @supernovastaffy!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/9cdhjc7

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 14.46% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01