Charlie's Surgery

in #dogs7 years ago

For those of you who do not know who Charlie is, he is my daughter's dog; my Grand-puppy. He was born on April 2, 2009. I posted a story about Charlie a while back and many photos of him as he was growing up. Here is a photo of Charlie when he was a puppy.

He is eight years old now.

Charlie's 8th birthday.

Year 2016 was a rough time for Charlie. He had to get used to a new baby in the house. Ella, my granddaughter, was born on January 22, 2016. And during the second week of February, it snowed. Charlie loves the snow and was so excited to go out and play.

He ran around in circles as fast as he could and jumped in the air to catch the snowflakes. Later that night, my daughter noticed that Charlie was limping. By morning, he couldn't put any weight on his right leg. She took Charlie to the vet and my daughter was given some bad news. Charlie needed to have surgery because he ruptured his right CCL and he tore his meniscus.

Two weeks later, on March 1, 2016, Charlie had his surgery.

This is a photo of Charlie the morning of his surgery, at the entrance to the animal hospital.

And this is a photo of Charlie two days later, when he came back home after his surgery.

Now, can you imagine what was going through Charlie's mind? A new baby comes into the home, three weeks later he hurt his leg, and two weeks after he got hurt, he had surgery. Would Charlie blame the new baby for his pain and suffering and all of this disruption in his life? Not one little bit. He adores his human sibling. Every time Ella sees Charlie, she runs up to him and gives him a big hug and kiss, and Charlie couldn't be happier.

Image Source: 100% own work.

Sort:  

It's adorable how much love we get from our dogs, no matter what the conditions! I have labs as well, I breed them. And I have been so amazed with how friendly and sociable they are to everyone! Dogs, kids, other people, you name it.

Labs have a great disposition don't they? I will check your blog when I have more time. :)

Yeah they really do!

This Post have been Manually Curated...Upvoted

When #whalepower Tag Applies , We will Curate your content...


#whalepower Project for Better Community - Free Manual Curation


curated by @paul-gillbanks


Thanks for using #whalepower Tag and share with the #whalepower Community, Follow, Upvote , Reblog , Support , Visit Our Page when ever you can.
Donation / Gift / Contribution send to @bullionstackers for #whalepower community project


#whalepower Curators Profile - (click name)
* @bullionstackers : Founder / Curator / Moderator
* @neoxian Witness / Curator / Moderator
* @paul-gillbanks Curator/ Moderator


Whale Power Guidelines Tag Usage - click


#whalepower Help-Desk - Direct Contact Steemit.Chat @bullionstackers
All content / images are copyrighted protected; please ask for permission before usage

Thank you! Do you know how much I appreciate you and all of your hard work? Well now you do! :)

Beautiful dog! Hope Charlie is doing well!!

Thanks! Charlie is doing well; he is just a bit slower than he used to be. He is back to walking 2 miles per day with my daughter. :)

Thats good to hear!

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @marcovanhassel. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @whatisnew to be original material and upvoted it!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @OriginalWorks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Thanks so much for the upvote! Great idea you have here. Thanks again! :)

Thank you so much for this! So nice of you! I have never heard of @originalworks before and I just checked it out. Thanks again for your kindness! :)

Maybe Charlie can protect Pachino and Ollie from your neighbours' boxer😀. Did Charlie have to wear the cone of shame for long?

I wish Charlie could but he lives 10 hours drive away from me. I only get to see him 2-4 times per year. "The cone of shame"...HaHa! He had to wear it for 5 days. But my daughter did take it off when she was right by his side to give him a break, and when he ate.

what,is the purpose of the cone? too much excitement for an old dog it seems. 😂😂
hope it recover fast.

The cone is to prevent Charlie from biting to take the stitches out. He is back to normal now. He just walks and runs a little bit slower.

Sure charlie will recover soon! Good luck!

Yes, Charlie is doing great! Thanks! :)

Im so glad charlie is ok! I am going through the same traumatic experience of nursing my baby back to health after surgery. Putting the cone on brakes your heart, they look so sorry for them selves.. but cute as well lol. Its for their own good a fast recovery though. Sending my prayers for a full recovery!

Aw, I just read your story. Poor Louis! It is a traumatic experience for our babies and for us too! Sounds like he is doing well now and I am so happy to hear that. Don't those cones make them look so pitiful? Thanks for your prayers...sending prayers for Louis too! :)

Lol yes the cones certainly do that. Much appreciated

Awww what a sweet sweet ending! And Charlie is such adorable puppy! By brother had a Labrador too, black one. He was so sweet :D

Thanks for the compliments. Your brother "had" a lab? Sorry for his loss. Labs are great dogs.

Yes... he was very old already. I remember him since he was a puppy :) They really are great! I am normally afraid of dogs, but Bobbi was the sweetest dog ever! :)

Awesome story! So glad he is doing well!

Thanks so much! I was wondering if you could help me please. I am doing a post for your Tree Tuesday and I can't even match up a leaf! Is this a maple tree? Thanks so much for your help! :)

Yes, Ma'am. Thats a Maple!

Yes! I got it right...isn't that amazing? LOL! Thank you so much for your help! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49