You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Please adopt a dog, dont shop

in #dogs6 years ago (edited)

You know what breaks my heart? That every country has shelters full of dogs. Dogs with all kind of problems. Dogs nobody wants. Instead of adopting such a dog we adopt one from abroad. In many cases it does not work out and these dogs and up in a shelter as well. Why? Stop the breeding and/or start castrating. Why all these dogs, cats, etc nobody wants.

Sort:  

That is exactly what I am saying. A good spay/neuter program is essential to stop de excessive breeding. And a good foster plan/ placement plan after that step. But first stop the breeding.

But people still want the perfect dog with no issues, because realisticly these dogs do have a lot of issues. My dog was streetdog and has an allergy for like 25 things or so. A streetdog with allergies? He would have died a long time on the street already haha.

I think all my next dogs will always be shelter dogs

Our Lex was brought to the shelter at the age of 1 year. But he is a German Shepherd with a pedigree. And guess what ... he's allergic to everything you can imagine. My boyfriend get him out of the shelter when he was 5 ... nearly 6 years old. this dog, who has the misfortune to carry many problems with him, who all have the cause of 'wrong breeding by humans', has also been dumped by people in the shelter. He had stayed in the shelter for almost 5 years! Abandoned by the cause of his problematic health problems ... and still he is loyal, happy, loving and grateful for everything he gets.

2018-04-03 15-28-24 - 0028.jpg

Unbelievable..that such a sweet animal had 5 years of living in a shelter.

He has such a good place now with you guys. Thats so good! Mucho loving

Allergies for 25 different things? Your dog could be me. The perfect dog does not exist. It would be better if we start with a healthy and happy dog first. That kind would probably not suitable for anyone but it would save all of us a lot of misery, money etc.

I have my last 4 dogs. All wolfdogs. After that it's fi ished. No pets anymore. Untill now these are healthy, close but I do not want my dogs to get older as me and dumped.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63