Hachiko: Just an awesome and heartbreaking true story

in #dogs5 years ago (edited)

As a dog-lover, I am a little disappointed in myself that I didn't know this incredible story until a few days ago. I hope a few of you haven't heard it either... because it is a real winner.

Hachiko_owner2.jpg
soure

In Japan during the early 1920's a university professor named Eizaburo Ueno adopted a purebreed Akita dog that one of his students pointed out to him. Eizaburo treated his new dog like a child, and they did almost everything together. As Hachiko got a bit older, the dog would even follow him every day to the train station in Tokyo while the professor went to work.

Hachiko_trainstation.jpg
source

Every single day, when the professor returned, Hachiko would be waiting at the station for his "father" to return and they would go home together.

in 1925, the 3pm train returned one day and Eizaburo did not exit the train. Sadly, Eizaburo was not just running late, but had unfortunately suffered a stroke at work and died. He never returned to the train station where his loyal dog was waiting for him.

While Hachiko was looked after by a local gardener, the dog would go to the train station on his own every morning and evening at precisely the time that the train would depart and arrive - it is not known (and how could it be) how it is that the dog knew what time of day it was. There Hachiko would wait for hours for his beloved owner to return.

Hachiko_waiting_trainstation.jpg

Hachiko continued this process for the next 8 years... never missing a single day. Aparently undeterred by the fact that his longing for his friend and "father" was never satisfied (and obviously couldn't be.) He performed this routine until the day he died.

This is a true story

At the train station in question (Shibuya station: Toyko) there is a permanent statue in honor of Hachiko and it is quite the famous tourist attraction for dog lovers and just people who appreciate a good story.

DSC06472.jpg
source

It makes me a bit "misty-eyed" whenever I think about this story: Dogs are truly wonderful creatures. I think if the same situation happened to me my spoiled brat doge would probably just follow whoever had the best treats.

There was an episode of Futurama that had a similar and heartbreaking theme that ended up getting the show an Emmy nomination. It is called "Jurassic Bark" and even if you don't care for Futurama (I don't) you really should see that one.

There has also been a Japanese movie and an American remake featuring Richard Gere, which I am going to watch right now. It won the hearts of people around the world and was featured in newspapers in Japan and many other countries.
location of Hachiko memorial in Japan

try-not-to-cry-1.png
source

Sort:  

Dogs truly are far too fucking good for us. I've heard about this story a few times before, but it still makes my asshole pucker up in minor sadness.

lol. I always look forward to your comments. Another winner!

I watched a movie with Richard Gere about this very loyal dog. This story is so touching and moving. I rarely cry during movies but this one was so so sad and heartbreaking.
Dogs are the most loyal human companies and they truly deserve our love.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes! I read this story a long time ago! Dogs are very loyal and psychic! They sometimes know more than we know about ourselves! Some dogs can actually warn the owners that they are going to have heart attack so that they could phone for medical help just in time!
Some dogs just wait for the owners to be back before they died. This actually happen to me once! Everybody in the office knew that this dog loved me so he waited in front of the office for me to talk to him fir the last time. People told me that he refused to die until I met him. He died within a minute after greeting me. He was already too far gone and in lots of pain, but he waited for me. So, I had him buried under the biggest tree in the corner and had a departing ceremony for him.

There are other stories about dogs that I have experienced in the past. I found them most incredibly psychic!

Man, this story always gets to me!

I had heard about this story. Every single time I read about it, I get goosebumps. Truly animals are love.
Let us know how was that american remake of the Japanese movie turned out to be!
Keep flourishing.

Dude, fellow dog lover, I saw this movie a long time ago, it's really touching. I cried a lot until the end. The story told, based on real events, confirms to me that dogs are very special and very noble beings. That's why I love them, what I can most enjoy in life are the hugs, smiles and words of my daughter and the tender gaze of my puppies. An affectionate hug for you, who share the same feelings.

These stories truly break the heart. I remember that I read it a couple of years ago or maybe more but I always return to it, you know in fact you have a faithful friend and you will see the true bond that unites us to these wonderful animals ... In truth wait and wait for the friend not importing distance and time ... Thanks for sharing ... My regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59880.83
ETH 2301.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50