Do you know about positive stress? 🐕

in #dogs6 years ago

Everyone knows about stress in unpleasant situations. But have you heard of positive stress? I'll give you an example:
If I'm allowed to go to the beach with my big ball I'm the happiest dog in the whole universe.
DSC_2482.JPG

But the whole universe around me disappears and there is only me and the ball left. Or even just the ball ;).

DSC_3838.JPG
I'm playing and playing but I'm getting overwhelmed by my old instincts within my body which were important for hunting and - yes I have to say it - killing.
In my body, the hormones adrenalin and cortisol are secreted, which helps to deal with stress and to react in dangerous situations. But those hormones also block other important functions and thus can make you permanently sick if your body doesn't recover from it.
While playing ball my body makes no difference between playing or real hunting. I'm under stress.
And at the point when my human sees the stress in my face - which is unfortunately after around 10 minutes excessive playing - I'm told to deliver the ball to my human and rest a bit.
They told me it takes about 8 hours until my body gets rid of the cortisol in my blood. And that it is so important for me to get rid of it because otherwise I can overreact in harmless situations - like meeting other dogs.

This is my stress face - can be confused with my happy face - but if you look carefully you can see the whole expression that I'm under stress.

DSC_3872.JPG

Now that means no more ball playing and resting for my health and the health of everybody around me ;)

DSC_4339.JPG

I hope you liked my short explanation about positive stress - there is a lot more to talk about this subject - but I'll keep it short - I need time for playing ball and resting :) - and maybe I will make another post in the future with more details about it.. .. Yours truly ..Marley🐕

Sort:  

Nice metaphor !! And you know your dog very well !

Hello @marionsworld!
Thanks for stopping by and reading my post(s) :)
I saw, you also resteemed it - thanks so much for your support. I really appreciate that!
CU around - your crazy Marley 🐕

Sorry my support is still worth 'nothing'...... Working on that :-D
I liked this article very much.
Is Marley a Ridgeback by the way?

Hey, don't worry about your support - mine is also dust.
Total votes below 3 cents are "dust" ... that's why I always look for posts that are above 3 cents already and not older than 6.5 days of that account. If I upvote these my 0.003 SBD keep counting :)
I appreciate all support and if my support is not enough I call my humans to send their support also - together we make it happen and it's worth more than 3 cents :)

I am a mix of Rhodesian Ridgeback and Staffordshire. That's why my ridge and I are quite small even if my father was a VERY big Ridgeback ... I think I got his paws :)

If you want to read more about this you can read my introduction post.
It tells you much more about me :)

Thanks for stopping by, reading and commenting my posts and you support!

Your crazy Marley 🐕

Congratulations @dog-marley! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99