A Puppy Story - part 2/2

in #dogs6 years ago
Hi, guys, Vida is here again. This is the second and last part of the puppy story published several days ago. Let me continue where we left off.

puppy looking outside.jpg

Soon after I posted an ad on the Facebook, a random guy commented he would like to take the puppy. Do you ever get a bad feeling about someone without even talking to them? I did. I replied to him to tell me a bit about himself, where would the dog stay, does everyone agree to have a dog, etc. I said he looks like a hunting breed and he will need a lot of exercise. A guy replied he has a lot of green surface around a building he lives in. My inner alarm turned ON! He wanted to pick up the dog right away and said he will need some time to come to our side of the city cause he is taking a bus and tram to get there. I was like 'sorry, you can't drag a dog through the big city in a weather like this, let's meet up later on.' I stated the dog is full of fleas and worms, he has to be treated and chipped right away. He said he has flea treatment (my inner alarm is howling). I decided to stick with my requirements and suggested a meeting in front of the vet station in my neighborhood, so I can be sure dog will get everything he needed. His last reply was that he has a vet and a worm tablet, and then I got BLOCKED. I know my requirements weren't high, if he wanted a dog so badly, he would do as I said, it was something that should have been done right away!

What do you think? Did you ever have any similar experience?

The puppy had to sleep in the garage. During the first night he pooped and peed there, but the very next day he did everything outside and only pooped once inside during the next night. I was so proud of him, he is such a smart ass! He barked for a bit when we left him alone but got calmed in a few minutes and went to sleep.

When I woke up the next day, I saw a missed call. Another guy wanted to take a puppy and he seemed genuine about it, replied to all of my questions and gave me all the information I wanted. We agreed his aunt will collect a puppy the next morning and take it to his girlfriend in another town, cause she couldn't make it to our town before Tuesday. I literally had a feeling my heart hurts when I agreed to give him away.

We had a whole Friday to spend with him before we say goodbye. Since it was raining and I wasn't completely comfortable to have Aris and him in the house together, I went with the puppy to the 1st floor of the house. That's when he started showing how similar to Aris he is. I left my slipper aside and next thing I see is him chewing it on the bed. He was so happy to play fetch but didn't want to give me the toy/ball back. He started to chew on a blanket and when I said 'no', he would pretend like he is licking it. His ear often got flipped backward, etc. I could totally see Aris in him! I named him Aron. It didn't suit him at all, but I couldn't remember anything else. The weather was OK for the rest of the day so we played outside and little guy learned how to return the ball to me. Before bedtime, I was cuddling him and crying, cause I knew he would be so happy with us if he stayed.

puppy walking.jpg

In the morning the lady (owner's aunt) came to pick him up. She seemed really nice and I could tell she loves dogs. Aris usually barks when people come to our yard but not this time, so I took that as a good sign. The puppy was a bit suspicious, but as soon as she offered him a treat, he started wagging his tail while munching. They signed a contract and went away. I got pictures when he arrived at his new home – him on a couch next to a cat. Adorable! I told them to keep me updated and if anything goes wrong or they decide they are not ready for a puppy yet to contact me and I'll take him back, anytime.

Don't know is it because I got so attached or just my guts, or maybe I want him back so badly, but I can't settle my thoughts about this puppy. Just have a bad inner feeling and can't explain why. Keep thinking something will go wrong. When I see a similar dog on Facebook, I get so stressed in a second cause my first thought is it's him, something happened, he got lost etc. Don't think there is a better home for him than ours and it's killing me we couldn't keep him but the only thing I can do is hope for the best.

Another lady found puppy's sister close to a place where we found him and she found her forever home too.

Disclaimer: all the photos were taken and edited by me and I wrote all the text myself. You can see the full story on our Instagram page. Feel free to give us a shout over there, especially if you're into dogs or own one!

Thank you for reading the whole story, I hope you enjoyed it. Feel free to leave the comments and thoughts below!

Love,
Vida

Sort:  

Congratulations @arisinho! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63248.94
ETH 2576.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85