What Breed of Dog Should I Get?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #dog7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians! I am looking to add a member to my family, a dog. Need a dog breed that's great with small kids and hopefully one that does not shed too much. Not looking for one of those dogs that people carry around everywhere. A medium size is probably the best for us. The dog has to be smart and loyal, with a good temperament. We are thinking of possibly getting a border collie or Australian cattle dog. Are these good choices? Are there other breeds I should consider? Looking forward to your advice. Thanks! 🐕

Border Collie

IMG_0494.JPG

Australian Cattle Dog

IMG_0495.JPG

Sort:  

I have a labradoodle and love that dog. I have owned many different types of dogs throughout my life and he is by far my favorite. He is very intelligent, fun, loving, and does not shed. He is a larger dog though so you may want to look into an australian labradoodle.

Oh ok, I'll look into it. Thanks for the reco. 👍

Normally I would say German Shepherd, but they tend to shed a lot. Same with Huskies. How much energy would you want them to have? Both choices above have a lot of energy. A Labrador might be a good choice. I also hear good things about Border Collies, but I think they have a high drive as well.

A high drive is ok. On thing I am concerned about with German Shepards is aggressiveness around kids. Do they need lots of training?

I don't feel they are aggressive unless you train them to be. If you get them young and have a chance to bond with them, they will respect that. I do put a fair amount of time into training them (we have two) but that should be a practice no matter what dog you get. But as long as you start them early and continue to enforce the training while they live with you, they are wonderful dogs. They just like to play a lot!

I would personally adopt a dog, dog breeders that supply pet shops treat the dogs really poorly, dog breeding is also a form of genetic mutilation, and pure breeds which have been subject to in-breeding have a high risk of a variety of diseases which not only end up in early death but also quite a bit of suffering up to that final point.

And from personal experience, when you buy a baby dog, and raise them yourself they tend to become really spoiled and playful to the point where they are slightly violent, especially with children, and when they grow they don't realize their bites actually hurt a lot now, and so it requires a bit more authority and yelling for them to get it, which is pretty hard to do all of a sudden if you're attached to them.
While, when I adopted a stray dog off the street that was older than a year, she became the nicest and sweetest dog I've ever had, it's like they're grateful their whole lives because you took them off the street and offered them a home and food.
Also from experience, if you do decide to adopt a stray dog, you might wanna pay attention to their diet and how much they eat, because growing without an infinite supply of food teaches them to take advantage whenever they have something, so both stray dogs and stray cats have the tendency of gaining weight, mine did.

My two adopted dogs start waving their tails around and smiling as soon as they see me smiling while my american labrador is like a spoiled kid.

anyway, cheers, and pls upvote ;-;

I also agree that you should think about adopting. The reason you have a dog is basically to give and receive love. To have a loyal friend for the rest of its life. You don't buy a friend or choose one for the way it looks. A friendship is made by connections that we don't really understand how it works. Choosing a dog should be like that. Go to one of those places where they rescue dogs and chose that one you feel the conection. I'm sure it will be an amazing experience for you. :)

Congratulations @rodneyaspiras! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

It really depends on what could you give to the dog. Border Collies need a lot of exercise and training. Do you have like 4 hours every day just for the dog? Else I wouldn't go with such a high drive dog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.37
ETH 2327.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52