My strange dog # 1 My Akita inu or how Richard Gere deceived me!

in #dog7 years ago

Hello again to all Steemitians! You probably have not had time to get bored, but here I am again, with my life experience! :)
I want to tell you about my dog today. How the dog appeared in my family, how we made the decision in principle - to have a dog.
CUO8S4vnYjM.jpg

It's not a secret for anyone that when a child appears in a family, various requests begin to appear as a child grows up. First, it's innocuous requests for the purchase of toys, sweets and other pleasures of life. And one day your child just starts to «eat your a brains» - mom-dad, I want a dog! Then follows the promise that your child will take care of the dog, will walk with the dog, feed, and you will not participate in this for any reason.
Yeah, sure!
It seems that you should believe your child, because he promises, but you were kids too and asked your parents for a dog, it happens to all the children sooner or later. You are well aware of the consequences and remember that your care and walks lasted only a week, at most! And then all the delights of the care and upbringing of the dog went to the parents' shoulders.

My family was no exception. We went through all the stages of requests, oaths of promises and the like. There were a few dogs in my life, but I loved two of them to the point of insanity and very hard experienced the death of each of them. Therefore, I resisted of getting a dog as best I could.

But one fine winter day we capitulated! We gathered on the couch and began to decide which breed of dog we would like to have. We took into account all the previous experience, pluses and minuses of the dogs, which already were in our life and made a decision - we want Hachiko!
rumbOd5kgKU.jpg

By the way, the film with Richard Gere played an important role in our choice :) And this was a mistake. Your Akita will not be such a dog that you saw in the movie, absolutely! Do not succumb to your emotions and carefully weigh your decision. Our dog is very different from the one that was in this movie! Perhaps we did not educate him well, but now we have what we have. Although despite all the shortcomings, our dog will always be the most loved and the best, and this is the most important thing! :)
GnjKoBDNBPs.jpg

The biggest mistake was that we did not become interested in the peculiarities of this breed, character, behavior, and we immediately began to look for a breeder. Finally, in 3 days - TA-DA-DA! Our puppy came to us, at that time he was 4 months old. The breeder has already given him a name, relieving us of this difficult task - Yoshiko, which in Japanese means a good child. But we call him Yosha, in abbreviated form.
-i_Tr-W9dIY.jpg

I will not talk about puddles, spoiled things and shoes - all puppies do it, but I'll tell you about the breed's peculiarities and difficulties that we encountered. If you had other breeds and you decided to bring up Akita as well as previous dogs - forget about it. Akita is not like other dogs, she is quite different, quite. Akita Inu is a Japanese song among all the dogs of the world. Akita Inu became a national treasure and a monument of Japanese nature 70 years ago. The most important distinctive features of this breed are spontaneity, stubbornness and individuality. Akita is able to show all its natural qualities and intelligence, it must necessarily be dealt with from the very first months to the end of life. It is noteworthy that akita is considered to be a puppy up to 2-2.5 years old. The most important mistake in the education of our dog was that we did not show perseverance. We did not expect that this breed is so stubborn and uncontrollable.

Therefore, I want to note a few key points, which must be paid attention:

  1. Akita decides what she needs herself. This is a very stubborn dog! Therefore, it is necessary to ensure that the basic commands are carried, otherwise the dog will simply not listen to you and will go about their business.

  2. Akita - the dominant breed, do not forget this. In no case should you let the dog feel like a family leader! You are the boss in any ways, ok?

  3. In advance, accustom your dog to loud sounds, claps, firecrackers, salutes. Otherwise, in an extreme situation, Akita will simply run away with a tail pinched. Unfortunately - this is our problem. Yosha's New Year and other holidays with salutes are very hard.

  4. Akita - a vindictive dog, she will remember the abuser for a long time and if necessary, she will certainly take revenge, do not even doubt! Our puppy was offended by a neighbor's dog, flipped, bitten ... But when Yosha grew older, he carried out his revenge by breaking out of the yard and defended honor in a violent fight. Both of them were bitten hard, but it went well, and you would have seen the shine in the eyes and the proud look of our samurai! :) Akita applies to strangers or to potential "enemies" with a hidden distrust. She never exposes her vigilance and alertness for show. Everything becomes much more difficult when there is another dog nearby. Whether it's just a neighbor's dog on a walk or a new pet, Akita will always see him as his enemy who encroaches on its "sacred" territory. In this case, she does not hide her aggression and can immediately rush into battle. Perhaps this is an innate sense of dominance over over the other four-legged. This is another negative trait of character, when even the most beloved owner cannot stop his pet.

  5. Be sure to socialize your Akita so that she is not afraid of a large crowd of people and other dogs. After our samurai realized that the dog could offend him, he began to aggressively treat all the dogs around. So now we are walking around the "kitchen gardens" so that someone will not be injured by accident.

  6. If your Akita does not execute the commands and does not listen to you - in no case don't let her off the leash neither in the city nor in the forest. The dog will just run away. This is a very distracting dog, there are so many interesting things in the world!

  7. Akita is molting very much! So much so, that you will have a feeling of snow in the apartment! If you are not ready to clean your coat every day (and there will be a lot of wool), then it's worth thinking about the short-haired breed. Akita molts twice a year for 2 weeks. Regular combing is recommended!
    FDAQUtryA-I.jpg

Now about the advantages of the breed!

  1. Akita is a very calm dog. Our dog rests most of the time.
    t0AsarzjG20.jpg

  2. Akita is very fond of children and her family, allows to do anything with her. This dog never bites and growls at his family and at his master!

  3. Akita is a very quiet dog, you will hardly hear her, she barks very rarely and only on business.

  4. It's a pleasure to play with Akita! The dog itself decides when she wants to play and she she finishes the game herself. You will not need to throw a stick or ball until you go crazy.
    oKd1JE8NiX0.jpg

I hope that my experience will help you in choosing the breed of your dog in the future.

I will answer your questions in the comments with a great plesure!

Sort:  

eh ... I really want a dog but my mother says that all our animals do not live long for us .. so I do not see dogs as their ears)

This is a very responsible decision - to have a dog. Yes, animals live less than humans, but they bring a lot of joy!

It warms my heart to see happy animals with loving families. I just rescued a tiny one from the jungle without being prepared for him, but once you know it, you know it! Akita is beautiful! Wish you a very happy life together

Thank you very much for the kind words! I was always admired by people who save animals. If I were in a similar situation, I would also save the animal without hesitation. I am very pleased with the fact that there are so many kind hearts in the world! Only for good hearts the world is getting better!

@ nearbird Thank you for your dog-story :) i sooo in love with this guy ;) from the first moment :) kiss him for me :*

Thank you so much! May I kiss him tomorrow? This guy got too many kisses for today! :)))

Ok ^-^ Tomorrow willbe good too :)!

Your dog is so cute and calm :)
It's good that you added the difference from the real hachiko and akita.
Most people buy huskies just because they want it to be like hachiko, again ignoring the fact that everybody is different, even every dog !!

Yes you are right 100% agreed by your facts

Thank you so much! Yes, this is true, but huskies have a completely different color. And the husky has a completely different temperament, they are crazy dogs, I know a couple of them :) They are very moving dogs!

okay..thanks for the info :)

Congratulations @nearbird! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Steemit board had get good turn to awere people on his achivements

@nearbird I'd probably would have never heard of the Akita breed, had it not been for the touching story of Hachiko . Surprisingly, it's not a very popular breed in these whereabout and hence, I never got to see one for real. Your post has been very insightful about understanding Akitas in general. You have an adorable dog btw..

Thanks for the post :)

The story of Hachiko is really touching. I can not watch this film without tears. I've never seen such dog's love for a man in my life. Sometimes I think that my dog loves me just for food :)) Thank you very much for your comments.

Congratulations @nearbird! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Akita needs a Dogecoin portfolio now! Immediately!

That's for sure! :)

Very interesting post, I enjoyed reading it. Your Yosha is very cute!
I have a little mini dachshund who also doesn't like other dogs, mostly big dogs, and he barks and lunges at them immediately upon seeing them. Sometimes, it's annoying because it annoys the other dog's owners but since he's small I can correct him quite quickly. Dachshunds are also stubborn breeds. Still love him though. Cheers!
Upvoted. And followed!

Many thanks for the interesting comment. I know that dachshunds do not like big dogs and they always bark at them. When we walk with Yosha, sometimes we meet a dachshund that does not like Yosha and always barks and jumps at him. Yosha does not pay attention to small dogs, he hates big ones and is always ready for a fight. If I see a person with a large dog in the distance, I warn him not to come near us.

Your experiences made me laugh, as I can well imagine the trials you've had. :D Although, the breeder should have made sure you were well prepared, giving you lots of honest information about what the breed needed, etc (IMO).

I've met a few Inu's, when I took part in dog shows, and I've heard stories of their stubbornness - something that may be recognised in many breeds within the Spitz family.

You might be able to find a craftsperson interested in using the shedded hair for spinning & knitting, or felting lol. I know it has been done when mixed with other yarns.

I hope you post more about your 'adventures' together. :)

Hello! I'm glad that you liked what I wrote and I'm glad that it was fun to read my story. Laughter prolongs life! Unfortunately the breeder told about the care of the dog and what kind of food she needs only. The rest of the information I learned gradually from other sources. Now I'm Akita's profy! :))) I like knitting, but I do not know how to spin yarn at all, so I just fold Yosha's fur into a big sack - for the future. I think I will write about Yosha pretty often, so see you around! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58728.31
ETH 3185.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43