Animal Smart

in #dog7 years ago

At about 7:30 in the morning, the sound of a raging dog disturbed the tranquility that beget the wide but small compound. It took everyone by surprise because no one noticed a stranger in the compound. Unsure whether a neighbor had an invited guest, we all kept mute waiting for the dog to accept defeat and keep calm.

It is five minutes now and the restless dog was still barking! Reluctantly one of our neighbors, a doctor, furiously rushed out to see what was up. His observations were not certain. He didn't see anyone but seemed to have understood why the dog was barking. I still sat still in my apartment listening carefully, like I understood the message encoded in the dog’s barking.

Sarina, a friendly dog always wanted someone around her and really gets excited when she sees a familiar face. It still doesn’t explain why it was barking. I decided to save my brain the morning quiz and take a glance myself.

I gently opened the door, then the net and the burglary gate. As I stepped out, I took the pain of looking around first, seeing no one I progressed to Sarina’s location. Lo and behold I made a rather not so shocking discovery that brought me ad idem to the Doctor.

The adjacent compound had some construction going on. This required some extra bags of cement. So there was a truck load of cement being offloaded. The truck was high enough to be seen by the dog and so were the workers. Frightened by the sight of them, the Sarina took no chances but to alert the whole compound of what it thought was a suspicious act.

With a relieving smile I pat the dog and gave it an early morning tummy rob before retreating back to my apartment. What a way to start the morning.

© 2016 Duru Ifeanyi Kingston

If you loved this story, don't fail to upvote, comment and follow. Love you all xoxo

Sort:  

Congratulations @emerkid! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59508.12
ETH 2603.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39