DnW Poetry Contest #5: Under a Tree's Shade

Both the drawing and the poem are entries to the contest DnW Poetry Contest #5. The theme for the contest was infatuation. I chose to write from a perspective of someone that has a crush on someone else. Even though it was not a requirement, I challenged myself to do a couplet rhyming scheme.

Under a Tree's Shade

Your fragrance dances on my face;
my skin craves your tight embrace,
I try to hide; I am blushing red -
blood is rushing through my head.

Wrapped in warmth, my heart flutters.
My body freezes; my mouth stutters.
You create a paradox within my spine,
oh, how I wish you could be mine.

Inside a safety box, I store
the truth: it is you whom I adore.
I am a coward; I am weak.
my life without you seems bleak.

There is no future in which I see
your manly arms holding me.
I lie in a tree's cool shade,
all alone, letting my dreams fade.


I invite all writers and poets to join the communities mentioned below; and remember to vote for great witnesses!

Join Die Hard Steemit and Isle of Write on Discord


Join the Steem Poets United on Discord


Sort:  

Some great rhyming there ! You really described the sensations on point. :)

Thank you! I am not used to rhyming so I'm glad that someone thinks it's good ;)

Nice.... I love the rhymings

You have been visited by the Steem Poets United Community Bot. Thank you for your participation in the community.
Your post has been Included into the Steemit Poets United: Daily Dose of Poetry and Prose #19 .
P.S.If you want to support our project upvote this comment, donate STEEM,SBD or Delegate Steem Power to me... It will be used to support all the members of this new community. Thanks.

wooow! i think you were the one who loves free verse :) , u dont need to blend in with the others but honestly speaking you really are one great poet! :) best of luck!

It's not in my element to rhyme, but it is fun to try every once in a while. Freeverse is definitely my thing. Thank you for the feedback!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.46
ETH 2409.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42